The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel and PHP 5

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tnine, Aug 26, 2005.

  1. tnine

    tnine Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    A 3rd party company using Cpanel 10.2.0-STABLE 83 currently hosts my sites. I would really like to use PHP 5, but they keep telling me that it is not part of the Cpanel distro, and they are waiting for this distribution. Is there a time frame on when PHP 5 will become part of the standard distribution?

    Thanks,
    Todd
     
  2. bidouilleur

    bidouilleur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Cpanel has the option PHP 5 in it's apache compiling tool but PHP is quite different from PHP4 and for as much I know, they don't push to upgrade.

    I have several compiled with PHP 5 and Mysql 4.1 but it has been done outside easyapache from cpanel. THis thanks to a friend who wrote some to make it all work.

    What happens in Cpanel when you compile with PHP5, no databse connection anymore with Mysql since from PHP5 on it is not standard anymore.

    So you have to do the compiling manually to make all work nicely, and most hosters don't want to do this, since you're going out standard cpanel procedures.
     
  3. AlexAT

    AlexAT Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ukraine
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I noticed today that my httpd.conf was rebuilt and now has:
    Code:
    <IfModule mod_php4.c>
      php_admin_value open_basedir "/home/myneuro:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp"
    </IfModule>
    <IfModule mod_php5.c>
      php_admin_value open_basedir "/home/myneuro:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp"
    </IfModule>
    
    Anybody know anything about this?
    Is this a way to run php5 now in the same time with the php4?
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    PHP 5 runs just fine with cpanel all of my shared hosting servers are running it

    do a search there is a how to somewhere on the forums
     
  5. AlexAT

    AlexAT Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ukraine
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Unfortunately I cann't find it :(
    Do you run php4 + php5 in the same time and both as CGI and all this supported by cPanel?
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  7. AlexAT

    AlexAT Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ukraine
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you!
    However, it is not useful.

    I saw that cPanel put php5 support into my httpd.conf and looking for only cPanel compatible solution for run php4+php5 both as cgi.
     
  8. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  9. AlexAT

    AlexAT Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ukraine
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you.
    But :) I'm looking for cPanel solution.
    In general I'm just curious what php5 tags doing in my httpd.conf when I run php4.x and never tried 5x on that server.
     
Loading...

Share This Page