The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel and Wildcard DNS Record

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by haalaaluu, Nov 15, 2005.

  1. haalaaluu

    haalaaluu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Dear cPanel,
    I edited cPanel hosting powered site to add asterisk character for Wildcard DNS Record at httpd.conf vhost setting and update the zone file wildcard accordingly. But after edited, the site can reach with "www" prefix and without "www" i was seeing cPanel default which is same as server page. Are there any special things to take extra tweaking when i wanted to add Wildcard DNS Record features to vhost site?

    Example for this time being,
    http://www.haalaaluu.com
    http://haalaaluu.com

    thanks
     
  2. BianchiDude

    BianchiDude Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Restart apache
     
  3. tuxdesk

    tuxdesk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How did you add wildcard entry in dns zone?????
     
  4. haalaaluu

    haalaaluu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    zone edit detail

    Linux Fedora,
    This is how i did the wildcard zone name edit > go to
    Code:
    /var/named/yourdomain.com.db
    add this entry accordingly
    Code:
    *.yourdomain.com. 14400 IN A 12.34.56.789
    restart the BIND by
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/named restart
    i did restart the apache but still the same.. i was nowhere to find the answer, pls help!!!

    thanks.
     
    #4 haalaaluu, Nov 16, 2005
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2005
  5. BianchiDude

    BianchiDude Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Edit the dns zone through WHM.

    If it still doesnt work paste your virtual host entry here.
     
    #5 BianchiDude, Nov 16, 2005
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2005
  6. haalaaluu

    haalaaluu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    problem solved

    well, thanks for all helps. the problem solved now. as i thought, if cpanel and wildcard dns record, this must be in

    Code:
    Serveralias www.domain.com domain.com *.domain.com
    thanks..
     
Loading...

Share This Page