Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel and X Windows

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mooi, Apr 27, 2005.

  1. mooi

    mooi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi all.

    After installing cPanel on a brand spanking new box, the machine cannot start X anymore on reboot. So I thought, "Hey it must be an X thing." So I did some research and found this:

    Add the following lines in the FILES section of /etc/X11/xorg.conf (which basically bypasses the X font server:

    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"

    Did it and woohoo the machine loads up the X login screen and I was able to log in. Then the machine hangs! Yeah yeah I know, who needs X when you got shell access...but sometimes it'd be nice. :rolleyes:

    My question is: does cPanel cripple X somehow for security purposes etc? And how do we fix it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    X is disabled for security issues and cannot be re enabled.
     
  3. mooi

    mooi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks!

    Excellent - it'd be nice to have this in the documentation. I thought I broke the machine.
    ---
    Woops my bad, it's in the FAQ but wasn't immediately clear - had to do a search. So yeah, if it was in the official documentation it'd be better.
     
    #3 mooi, Apr 27, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2005
  4. brentp

    brentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ayr, North Queensland, Australia
    Actually, i got X working. I primarily use the app "vncserver" to get a vnc server up.

    Simply put:

    install the rpm package 'vnc'
    run vncpasswd
    run 'vncserver'
    and connect to 5901.

    Regards,
    Brent
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mooi

    mooi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    VNC eh...tricky.

    Well I do agree that X is insecure but if the machine was internally hosted behind locked doors , on your own premises etc., then I don't see the harm of it. Some tasks are simpler with a GUI - cPanel does provide a great interface nonetheless.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice