The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel and X Windows

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mooi, Apr 27, 2005.

  1. mooi

    mooi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all.

    After installing cPanel on a brand spanking new box, the machine cannot start X anymore on reboot. So I thought, "Hey it must be an X thing." So I did some research and found this:

    Add the following lines in the FILES section of /etc/X11/xorg.conf (which basically bypasses the X font server:

    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"

    Did it and woohoo the machine loads up the X login screen and I was able to log in. Then the machine hangs! Yeah yeah I know, who needs X when you got shell access...but sometimes it'd be nice. :rolleyes:

    My question is: does cPanel cripple X somehow for security purposes etc? And how do we fix it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    X is disabled for security issues and cannot be re enabled.
     
  3. mooi

    mooi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks!

    Excellent - it'd be nice to have this in the documentation. I thought I broke the machine.
    ---
    Woops my bad, it's in the FAQ but wasn't immediately clear - had to do a search. So yeah, if it was in the official documentation it'd be better.
     
    #3 mooi, Apr 27, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2005
  4. brentp

    brentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ayr, North Queensland, Australia
    Actually, i got X working. I primarily use the app "vncserver" to get a vnc server up.

    Simply put:

    install the rpm package 'vnc'
    run vncpasswd
    run 'vncserver'
    and connect to 5901.

    Regards,
    Brent
     
  5. mooi

    mooi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    VNC eh...tricky.

    Well I do agree that X is insecure but if the machine was internally hosted behind locked doors , on your own premises etc., then I don't see the harm of it. Some tasks are simpler with a GUI - cPanel does provide a great interface nonetheless.
     
Loading...

Share This Page