The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel, are you EVER going to fix distiller??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DReade83, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=5902

    Bug was logged in October and hasn't been fixed.

    Everytime I do an Apache Update, the settings I've added myself into the httpd.conf file are being lost, even when I've run the distiller command from the SSH prompt before doing the update, which I thought was meant to ensure this didn't happen.

    Well it does.

    Also, CSF keeps reminding me after an Apache Update to run the Apache Memory Usage script, because the settings cPanel itself is adding to the httpd.conf file are being lost when Apache is updated.

    Come on cPanel, sort it out... This has been going on now for long enough.
     
  2. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    cPanel? Are you going to answer??
     
  3. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    The distiller isn't "broken". It's very hard to include every configuration directive possible as there are a ton of directives. Have you tried setting this using the Apache Include functions within WHM's Service configuration?
     
  4. elmister

    elmister Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Changes dissapear when updating apache, but not when adding domains, in both cases apache_conf_distiller --update was ran before, but only when updating apache everything dissapears
     
  5. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Todd, you what?!

    Very hard to include every configuration directive???

    The default config includes "ServerSignature On". I set it to "Off", then run distiller, then run Apache Update.

    When the update has completed, ServerSignature is set back to On.

    DISTILLER IS BROKEN!

    If it wasn't broken, it wouldn't be changing commands it already knows about back to default. Understand?

    I'm sick of being told things are not broken when they clearly are. This problem has been going on for months now and needs investigating and fixing. It's a joke you won't admit there's a problem here...
     
    #5 DReade83, Nov 21, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2007
  6. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I apologize for the confusion. There was a bit of misunderstanding with the distiller issues. The development team is reviewing the distiller script and is working to resolve the inconsistencies with the distiller.
     
Loading...

Share This Page