Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel automatically add DNS records on update

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Hedloff, Feb 7, 2019.

  1. Hedloff

    Hedloff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Up north!
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    We have a couple of customers that are only using our DNS service and have their email with Microsoft Office 365.
    Their remote MX is set to external.

    On some occasions customers DNS zonefile is automatically added these records:
    webdisk.domain.tld
    _autodiscover._tcp.x
    _caldav._tcp.x
    _caldavs._tcp.x
    _carddav._tcp.x
    _carddavs._tcp.x
    _caldav._tcp.x
    _caldavs._tcp.x
    _carddav._tcp.x
    _carddavs._tcp.x
    cpcontacts.x
    webmail.x
    autoconfig.x
    cpcalendars.x
    whm.x
    cpanel.x

    This is of course causing some issues for the customer and their employees.
    Do anyone know how to fix this or is this simply just a bug from cPanel side when they are doing updates?
    Or is this caused by /scripts/mailperm script? And if, how to fix the bug?
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,815
    Likes Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @Hedloff

    These are autoconfig/autodiscover records. If you don't want these automatically added you can go to WHM>>ServerConfiguration>>Tweak Settings and disable the option as follows
    Thunderbird and Outlook autodiscover and autoconfig support (enables service subdomain and SRV record creation)

    You may also want to disable the automatic creation of service subdomains in Tweak Settings as well if you don't want the cpanel.domain.tld or whm.domain.tld records added.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Hedloff

    Hedloff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Up north!
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Of course we want those, but not for all customers. And not have them added each time we update cPanel!
    Please get it reported as a bug and get it fixed.
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,815
    Likes Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @Hedloff

    As I noted in my previous response, this is a setting you can turn off, you can add these records for the accounts you want them on specifically. From what I'm seeing this isn't a bug at this juncture this is the intended behavior.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Hedloff

    Hedloff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Up north!
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I can agree that it is a setting and it can be turned on and off. But as I see it, it was made for new accounts.
    When someone does remove things they don't need and want, and their software is updated. It should not add things automatically. Then there should be a setting for this.

    If you like to support hosting companies to use cPanel in the future you would file it like a bug or at least like a feature request.
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,815
    Likes Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Hedloff

    Please feel free to open a feature request! You can do so using the link in my signature and when you've completed it please share the link here so others can vote on it as well.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Hedloff

    Hedloff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Up north!
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice