The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel backup copying homedir never ends

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by ASTRAPI, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello

    I own a dedicated server and i use cpanel on it with only one account inside for my site.

    I was use as root the command : /scripts/pkgacct cpanelaccountname

    And i was get the backup at home directory.

    After adding the latest Centos kernel and disabling the ssh only for my account when i run the command i got copying homedir and never ends and in the home directory the backup size is 0 bytes...

    I don't think the problem is that i am as root as i always do it in this way.Maybe because i was disable the ssh on the account?

    Any ideas?

    Thank you
     
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check disk space

    Whether SSH access is enabled for the account or not would not affect the pkgacct process. What you are describing will happen if you do not have enough disk space to package the account. How large is the account, and how much disk space do you have? You can see the free disk space using the df command:

    Code:
    # df -h
     
  3. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda1 19G 1.9G 16G 11% /
    /dev/sda7 180G 4.3G 166G 3% /home
    /dev/sda6 9.3G 150M 8.7G 2% /tmp
    /dev/sda3 19G 2.6G 15G 15% /var
    /dev/sda2 19G 7.1G 11G 41% /usr

    I think is something else that i can't find :(
     
  4. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Any errors at all displayed?

    Are any errors at all displayed when you run /scripts/pkgacct? Can you post the complete output of /scripts/pkgacct? You can edit out the actual account name for security.
     
  5. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The account name that i was post does not exist for security reasons.

    In the past when i was run the script command some times the copying homedir was finished very fast about 20 seconds and sometimes more about 2 minutes but i always got a working backup.

    Now it runs for more than 5 minutes and it scrolling down with some dots like this:

    ...........
    ...........
    ...........
    ...........

    and then just stops without any errors :(
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please submit a ticket

    At this point, it would be best if you can submit a ticket so that we can investigate directly. What you are describing is an unusual situation and it is hard to make further suggestions without being able to see the server.
     
  7. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can i submit a ticket here as i got my license from cpanelsource.com ?

    I send a mail to them but the reply was not what i expect and totaly false :(


    Thank you
     
  8. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Complimentary ticket

    Yes, you may submit a ticket directly to us. Either use the Submit a Support Request without Logging In option on https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/, or, in the WebHost Manager, click Main >> Support >> Support Center, and then click "Contact cPanel." There is no charge for submitting a ticket directly to us.
     
  9. ASTRAPI

    ASTRAPI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I open a ticket and after a while i try it and it was ok :)

    I close the ticket now.

    Thanks :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page