The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Backup does not run automatically

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by luca.sartori, Jul 31, 2014.

  1. luca.sartori

    luca.sartori Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Udine, Italy, Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello!
    I've a problem with my cpanel. I've imported my cpanel domains from my old server. In my old server back ups was running smoothly sending a copy of every domain back up to myy ftp server.
    In my new server none of the back ups are working (they are not done, neither locally, neither sent via ftp) althought back up for every domain are set daily in Backup Configuration.
    I suspect there is some problems with my cronjobs, because if I start manually my back up procedure, they are done (and sent) correctly, but I am not sure on what to check on my cpanel.
    Can anybody lend me an hand?
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    First of all check your crond services status and after that check server cron and cron job logs on your server

    Crond Service Status

    Code:
    service crond status 
    Root User Cron:

    Code:
    crontab -l 
    Cron Logs

    Code:
    cat /var/log/cron | grep root 
     
    #2 24x7server, Jul 31, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2014
  3. luca.sartori

    luca.sartori Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Udine, Italy, Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes! I think that this might be it.
    crond is stopped. I have no idea why.
    Is:
    Code:
    service crond start 
    safe to execute? Any reason why crond could be stopped? I've installed csx and csf.
    Sorry for the dumbs questions. :eek:
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,666
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, it's safe to restart the "crond" service via:

    Code:
    service crond restart
    It's possible the process was killed at some point, but you can enable monitoring for it via "WHM Home » Service Configuration » Service Manager" to ensure it restarts automatically if it fails again in the future.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page