The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPanel Backup (Incremental Backup)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hbhb, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. hbhb

    hbhb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I am just curious, anyone here uses CPanel incremental backup method before to backup their server right now?

    I have a server with too many accounts (500 accounts) and some are very huge (4-5GB storage per account)

    My past experience few years ago, my server load spikes up very high when Cpanel run my backup (tar the backup file) before remotely ftp the backup files to another server (no cpanel)

    I need someone to suggest the best backup solution?
     
  2. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    I use incremental backup for the same reason, becuase taring them up spikes up the CPU load. Even tho I'm running an Intel Xeon 2x 3.4GHz. What you should do is have incremental backup enabled, and store them to a second hard drive. This will backup all files and folders like it would when taring them up, just doesn't tar them up. The first night you have incremental backup enabled, it will take longer, however the second night backs should be much faster as only changed information is backed up! Causing less load on your server...

    From,
    Adam
     
  3. gondino

    gondino Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Using Cpanel Incremental Backup to External Backup Server?

    Hi HelloAdam,

    How if we use Cpanel Incremental Backuping to External Backup Server?

    I mean we dont backup to local HDD, but we setup to directly
    incremental backup from source server to other Backup Server's HDD?
    (backup server do not have any control panel installed)

    Is this possible to be done by using function of WHM/Cpanel Incremental Backup?

    Do we need to setup any system/software on external backup server, like
    ftp server (create ftp user as well ?), http server?

    Or, anybody ever try this kind of method before?

    Can anybody help by guide in step by step? :)

    Thank you.
     
  4. hbhb

    hbhb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I found this on another website:

    * Backup Status: Enabled
    * Backup Interval (Note: Selecting Daily Backup with give you monthly and weekly as well, Selecting Weekly backup will give you monthly as well.) Daily or weekly - up to you
    * Days to run backup (explanitory) - OK No problem
    * Remount/Unmount backup drive (requires a seperate drive/coda/nfs mount) - Disabled
    * Bail out if the backup drive cannot be mounted (recommended if you have selected the above option) - Enabled
    * Incremental backup (only backup what has changed. (**No Compression**) - Disabled
    * Backup Accounts - Enabled
    * Backup Config Files (not needed to restore specific accounts) - Enabled
    * Sql Databases (at least per accounts is needed to use the restore feature) - Per account
    * Backup Raw Access Logs - Enabled
    * Backup Type - Standard
    * Backup Destination (this should be a dir/nfs/coda mount with at least twice the space of all your /home* partitions. Setting this to /home is a VERY BAD IDEA.): - /backup
    (Note: you need a second hard drive and should have it set to /backup in your fstab file)


    How can I run incremental backup from /sda/home to /sdb/backup instead of /sda/backup?
     
  5. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    On that page, change the place where you store backups.

    From,
    Adam
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    sda and sdb are device names. You probably mean sda1 and sdb1

    If oyu have a second drive, with one partiion, just mount it on /backup, or whatever you want the mount point named. Then in your backup configuration, enter the mount point as the Backup Destination.

    Thus for a typical second SATA drive, with one partition:

    Code:
    mount /dev/sdb1 /backup
    
    substituting your desired mount point for /backup

    Place the device and mount point in your fstab to make certain its automatically mounted upon reboot.

    SAMBA, NFS and other network filesystems will let you mount a remote server as if it's a local hard drive, then specify that mount point as your Backup Destination. That would give you a remote backup with Incremental enabled, something not possible with FTP
     
Loading...

Share This Page