Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED cPanel Backup Kill -

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by osirion, Oct 16, 2017.

  1. osirion

    osirion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Hi Guys,
    Started a full backup from within accounts cPanel.
    Decided to kill the pkgacct process through SSH due to backup no longer being needed.

    However, it had already been running for some time. The two files created in the accounts home are 0 bytes; so where do I go to delete the 'temp file' for the backup that was killed? looked in /backups/ and /home/account_name/tmp but didnt see anything that could be the file?
    Dont want a 100gb tmp backup file just sitting in the middle of nowhere since it didnt complete - so want to find it to delete it...
     
  2. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi @osirion,

    If the backup was triggered from cPanel, then the working or packaging directory will be similar to below:
    Code:
    /home/13712.BIN_ADMIN_CPANEL_BACKUP_PL__.lC23Jo4L.tmp
    You may also see the backup in `/home/$username/', if it got that far.

    Thanks,
     
    osirion likes this.
  3. osirion

    osirion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Thanks, but dont see it and the two files in /home/$username/ with the backup name were 0 bytes - so not that.
     
  4. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The process may not have gotten to the archive function yet. Do you actually see an increase in disk usage after the backup was started?
     
    osirion likes this.
  5. osirion

    osirion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Must be honest, I didnt know what it was before - so cant say. I will then assume it didnt start with the archive function yet because it is a rather large account and must of still been generating the file list or something.

    Thanks for your help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page