The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel backup on single hard drive server (RAID1 though)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nsusa, Aug 26, 2006.

  1. nsusa

    nsusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Question about backups on a server with RAID1 configuration and therefore only one visible hard drive.

    How do I configure cpanel on a server that shows only one hard drive? Do I need to create a separare partition or just a sub-folder to point the WHM backup location to? I am getting a new server with RAID1 setup.

    My plan is to backup on the RAID1 harddrive and then use rsync to pull certain accounts over the wire to an external offsite backup.

    Thanks for any feedback.

    Chris
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    As you may know, to backup your data on one HD is not the best option. Backup your data on either a separate HD, a 2nd server, or a remote backup service.

    Yes, you need to create a separate partition for your backup. If this is the only HD you have and no other backup options, you need to either create a separate partition or a sub-folder /backup

    Do not use RAID as a replacement for regular backups. If your system undergoes a catastrophic failure, RAID will be useless. RAID also doesn't take care of something as simple as replacing a file when you delete it by accident. In these cases, a backup on a removable medium (that has been removed) is the only way you will be able to restore a file system.

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. nsusa

    nsusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Thanks.

    No worries. I am aware of RAID1 and what it gives me in regards to redundancy. The plan is to pull the dynamic accounts (the ones that change daily / not the static ones) off the server via rsync to an external NAS storage.

    My concern is the extra partition or if I can use just an extra sub folder. Would the partition be better performance-wise compared to a folder?

    Thanks.

    Chris
     
  4. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    It depends on the server speed, the size of the HD and other hardware. Some sys admins might disagree with me on this, but a seperate partition might perform slightly better than a sub-folder.
     
  5. nsusa

    nsusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Thanks for your help. :) That gives me what I needed to know.

    Chris
     
Loading...

Share This Page