The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel backup options

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by crshep, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. crshep

    crshep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have a couple of questions depending on how you read this. LOL

    1.When doing a full server back up of all accounts do I use

    Per Account Only
    or
    Per Account and Entire MySQL Directory

    What I want to make sure is when the time comes that I have to restore
    an account and I do using whm/cpanel restore that the account is just
    as it was before the crash. So another words everything is working.
    ------------------------------
    2.Is there a way to make the server back up Priority 1? or should i not do this?
    The reason I'm asking this is because when I start my backups at 1am the backups
    seem to stop around 6am and won't start backup until around 8pm again causing
    it to take about 3 or 4 days to backup up about 300 domains and thats IF IT COMPLETES
    most times it doesn't it stops at about 120 backups or so. Just doesn't sound right to me.

    I have 4 gigs of ram
    4 cpu's 2.4
    and only backing up like maybe 40 gigs total

    Oh yea and it doesn't matter if I back up to the same drive on the server
    or do a remote backup it still stops and starts backing up about the same
    and takes the same 3 or 4 days to complete IF IT COMPLETES.

    Any help on this would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Charles
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    1) Per Account and Entire MySQL Directory

    2) I wouldn't.
    You should never backup to the same drive, and remote backups take more time to complete. You don't have a second drive on this system, it sounds like. You might want to look into that.
     
  3. crshep

    crshep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks for the answer to question number 1. Do you happen to know the answer to question number 2 on why it stops or why so long to backup?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well, if you're backing up to the same drive, that's a lot of resources being used I would think, slowing things. if you're backing up to a remote server, that takes time to transfer each backup, one by one, slowing things. If you had for example an account or two causing high load during backup hours this would also, slow things.

    If you had a large account with directories of files like music files for example that don't update often so backing up each night might not be needed, you could exclude those directories using the cpbackup-exclude.conf located in the root of every account.

    You might check your backup log for clues to problems that you can correct as well.

    Hopefully at least some of that is useful to you.

    GL!
     
  5. crshep

    crshep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    where would I find the backup logs? I guess I need to check them out. I finally think I figured out what it is doing now I just need to figure out WHY it is doing it.

    I backup or at least rey to back up once a week. Where every other week going to server and remote. But both are very slow with only about 40 gigs used on the server and both stop backuping up after 115 sites have been backed up. There are about 364 or so on the server so it is not completing. I started a fresh one this morning to see what it would do remotely.

    Started at 8::15am stopped at 12:17pm with 115 backups complete and the server has 364 hosted sites it should be backing up. (So nothing backup the last 3 hours)

    in WHM under "Process Manager" it shows shows as running but nothing is happening.

    10199 (Trace) (Kill) root 19 0.1 0.1 /scripts/cpbackup

    Thanks
    Charles
     
    #5 crshep, Feb 29, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  6. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I believe the backup will pause if the server load gets to a certain level so as not to cause problems. It resumes after the load goes down.

    Another thing I recently faced with backups is there were a couple sites with about 10 gigs of mail in the default email box. That slowed not only the backups, but, the whole server. So, lots and lots of tiny files will also significantly slow down the backup process.
     
  7. crshep

    crshep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I understand if the load gets high but I wouldn't think
    1.00 or even up to 3.00 would be considered high for
    server loads. As of now 10:00pm if hasn't backed up
    any more sites still sitting at the 115 and according
    to WHH--->"Process Manager" it is still running

    10199 (Trace) (Kill) root 19 0.0 0.1 /scripts/cpbackup


    So I would think there maybe a problem somewhere.

    Again it doesn't matter if I use Standard or
    Remote FTP (Accounts Only) I get the same outcome
    about 115 or 116 accounts get backed up then it stops.

    Thanks for any ideas or help.
     
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Charles,

    The backup logs are at /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup location and you would find the latest one by viewing the date stamp on the file(s).

    If you do find any error in that log for the latest backup, please post the error here and we will try to determine what is happening.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page