The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Backup: Passive or not ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alex-info, Nov 22, 2003.

  1. alex-info

    alex-info Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Hi !

    I try to perform a backup in cPanel using a remote FTP server.

    I tried the the "ftp" option, and "PassiveFtp" option, but BOTH gives the same results: a passive connection to the server.

    The problem is my FTP server (IIS 5 behind a firewall)does not support PASV connections. I MUST ba able to tell cPanel to do it in PORT mode.

    Here's the log then cPanel sends me to tell me that the backup is complete, but was unable to send it:

    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)<<< 220 mirage2000svr Microsoft FTP Service (Version 5.0).
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)>>> user alex
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)<<< 331 Password required for alex.
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)>>> PASS ....
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)<<< 230 User alex logged in.
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)>>> TYPE I
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)<<< 200 Type set to I.
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)>>> ALLO 1874461
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)<<< 200 ALLO command successful.
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)>>> PASV
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)<<< 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,1,100,7,91).
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)>>> STOR backup-11.22.2003_21-48-12_alexinf.tar.gz
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)<<< 425 Can't open data connection.
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)>>> QUIT
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8285de4)<<< 221


    Is that normal, that even if I specifically tell cPanel NOT to use passive mode, it still does ?

    Thanks !
     
  2. alex-info

    alex-info Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    *bump*

    Any help ?
     
  3. eXite

    eXite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Turn off passive transfer or enable passive transfers on your microsoft server.
     
  4. alex-info

    alex-info Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    IIS 5's FTP does not allow disabling passive or active ... it just supports both and that's it.

    Also, as I said, I am behing a firewall, so my FTP server CANNOT handle passive transfers.

    What I need is to force cPanel o use a non-passive connection.
     
  5. robnelli

    robnelli Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    alex-info,

    Did you ever get your problem resolved? I'm having the exact same problem with my FTP server, router et al. I really need to find the solution too.
     
Loading...

Share This Page