The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel Backup

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Slykid, Feb 19, 2005.

  1. Slykid

    Slykid Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I am trying to restore the backup carried from out cpanel 9.9.9 But somehow it fails, it does not upload at all. I was told that i need to create a folder /tar as Cpanel for some reason is not able to automate the creation of the folder which is required to run the backup process. Can anyone help me what exactly has to be done to run a perfect backup so that i can restore it when emergency arises.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. RavenSoul_

    RavenSoul_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Belgium
    Maybe you can backup some things manually:

    - MySQL:

    to backup all databases, login to shell and type

    Code:
    mysqldump --all-databases > file.sql
    - Home (the users)

    to backup all files of the users, login to shell and type

    Code:
    cp -rf /home /dir_you_want_the_bckp_into

    Hope this helps a bit.
     
  3. Slykid

    Slykid Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Backing up trick

    How will i be able to do the following:

    temp fix for backing up a site is to run the following in SSH:


    [/home/svit]# mkdir tar
    [/home/svit]# chown svit:svit tar/


    that creates the directory tar in your home directory then gives the permissions to that site to create the tar file.


    Pls let me know where exactly would i get to SSH? I created the tar folder thru ftp, but still does not work mainly while restoring the files.

    Thanks for your input,
    Regards,
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Unless your webhost provider has provided you with SSH then you cannot use those commands. You host provider should really be the one to help you out on this, they can restore the backup for you.
     
  5. Slykid

    Slykid Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Best Way to perform backup/restore

    The reason i cannot ask the present web hosting company is coz I am transferring to a new web hosting provider. I need to do the necessary backup from the old one and restore on the new one myself. So well I am not able to do the necessary restore on the new server.
    Coz whatever setting the present webprovider does inorder for me to run the backup process, I have to do similar settings of SSH, directory creation on the new webhosting provider server.

    Pls suggest any other way around to perform such backup/restore process.

    Thanks
     
    #5 Slykid, Mar 12, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2005
  6. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Are you moving to another cpanel host? If so, they can transfer your site with your username and password.
     
  7. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ask your new hosting company to do an account transfer using your old id and password from the old host. If they really want you and are good there should be no issues for them.
     
Loading...

Share This Page