The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel backups not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Monil, Dec 21, 2005.

  1. Monil

    Monil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hi,

    I have cPanel backups set to daily for all accounts, however, when checking the backup folder, (daily) there are only backups of 7 accounts, its missing a few hundred.

    Theres a good 70GB+ available on the mount its backing up to, cpbackup says Daily Backup is up to date.

    Can anyone offer any advice? We want to reinstall our server but can't without full backups.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. gegervision

    gegervision Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm having the same issue. They are just are startng at all. I have to kick off /scripts/cpbackup manually or else they do not run.
     
  3. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Does the /home partition have lots of room? That is where the temporary files are put when backing up.
     
  4. jotay

    jotay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having the same issue.... and i'm making a remote backup ? what can be wrong ?? :(
     
  5. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Still uses local partition to build gzip file before sending.
     
  6. amal

    amal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm also having the same issue ...

    Cpanel backups not working as expected.. :(
     
  7. gegervision

    gegervision Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    For me, I have my backups running on a second drive/volume so it gzip's the files from the backup drive and not /home like lloyd_tennison mentioned

    I can run them manually. It'll just not start as a cron as it should.
     
  8. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Everyone, please mention your OS and cp version.

    We have no problems on FREEBSD 4.8 - 5.3

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.1-R95 to C112

    any errors in your /scripts/cpbackup email?
     
  9. gegervision

    gegervision Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Everyone needs to check to see if their cron daemon are running. I just restarted mine and it was showing it was stopped. I have 3 boxes all running Linux ES and all had the same issue. For some reason during the last RELEASE updates the cron daemon was stopped. I had even rebooted two of the boxes after the upgrade but apparently it did not restart automatically.

    at shell do this

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/crond restart

    if you see this

    Stopping crond: [FAILED]
    Starting crond: [ OK ]

    Then you'll know crond was not running and needed to be restarted like mine.

    if it comes back with

    Stopping crond: [ OK ]
    Starting crond: [ OK ]

    Then crond was running fine and you have another issue.
     
  10. amal

    amal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    It worked for me by changing the time-stamp of the backup directory - /backup/cpbackup/daily to an old date..

    ######

    touch -t 200512110230 daily

    ######
     
  11. cwhtree

    cwhtree Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If cron is not starting on reboot, what needs to be set to make cron start on boot and how. Thanks in advance for the info!
     
  12. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    crond should start on boot, but just in case run these two commands at the prompt:
    /sbin/chkconfig --level 2345 crond on
    /sbin/chkconfig --add crond
     
Loading...

Share This Page