The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel backups not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by adel, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. adel

    adel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey

    For some reason cpanel is not backing up all my Hosting account it seems to miss quite a few out for some reason depsite me selecting ALL accounts to be backuepd via WHM backup function

    does anyone know whats up? or can anyone suggest me a beter way todo it?

    What i noticed that Every Account that i have created in past month none of it is being backed up despite selecting it under "Select users"

    or does anyon know where/what the script is located that contains details of accounts to be backuped?

    cheers!
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Make sure the partition where /backup directory is not full or didn't exceed its quota/disk usage. Also, check /etc/passwd /etc/shadow and /etc/group. Make sure these "missing or left out" domains are there.
     
  3. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Make sure the partition doesn't have usrquotas enabled as well.
     
  4. adel

    adel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Thanks for that

    its actually backing up on a Remote FTP Server so there is plenty of space left

    Ok check this out

    in my etc/passwd i see these accounts ( i did not copy and paste them all just a few (it starts from A-Z)


    saleel:x:577:578::/home/saleel:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    smbhaca:x:579:580::/home/smbhaca:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    speedysa:x:580:581::/home/speedysa:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    spinneyc:x:581:582::/home/spinneyc:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/jailshell
    sweb:x:585:586::/home/sweb:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    unaizac:x:589:590::/home/unaizac:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    uniqmms:x:590:591::/home/uniqmms:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    uwaisame:x:591:592::/home/uwaisame:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    uzislam:x:592:593::/home/uzislam:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    wwwhass:x:595:596::/home/wwwhass:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    yunirne:x:598:599::/home/yunirne:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell

    When i login to my FTP Backup Server all these Accounts are Backed up in exactly the same order as it appears in etc/passwd these following entires occur

    However I scroll down further down the /etc/



    bluegoop:x:550:551::/home/bluegoop:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    realfurq:x:567:568::/home/realfurq:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    franklin:x:570:571::/home/franklin:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    headline:x:536:537::/home/headline:/bin/bash
    flashfor:x:596:597::/home/flashfor:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    dotguard:x:602:603::/home/dotguard:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    leedspsg:x:576:577::/home/leedspsg:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    somrfor:x:578:579::/home/somrfor:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    ahlsunna:x:540:541::/home/ahlsunna:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    supergro:x:582:583::/home/supergro:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell
    darulehs:x:604:605::/home/darulehs:/bin/bash


    But None of those Accounts are Backed up at all

    and it is not in alphabetical order either :|

    any ideas whats up with this?
     
  5. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The reason that you should check the account quota is that each account is backed up separately, and each backup counts towards the quota.

    So, for instance, if you have an account with a quota of 100 megs and it's 75% full, chances are that the backup isn't going to work correctly.

    Having said that, I can't remember if that holds true for backups done via WHM, or if that's just backups done by the user through cpanel... :confused:
     
Loading...

Share This Page