The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Backups seem to have stopped working

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by tribey2, Jun 7, 2016.

  1. tribey2

    tribey2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Hoping someone may be able to help here! I run a server with WHM/CPanel that has around 10 accounts/sites on it.

    Each night I backup all accounts to my home NAS drive over SFTP and have been without a hitch for around 10 months.

    For some reason my server hasn't backed up since 18th May and I can't work out why. Nothing has changed as far as my home router/NAS is concerned, and if I go into the Backup settings in WHM I can validate the SFTP successfully (if I change the backup folder name and validate, I can see a new folder created on my NAS - so the server is definitely still able to connect).

    On the basis it validates correctly, I'm at a bit of a loss as to why this might be happening - is there anything I can do to see why it might be failing in terms of logs etc? I've located the backup logs at /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/, but the last log here is from 18th May (which isn't much help).

    Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can force a backup generation with a command such as:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force
    Does the backup work as intended when you run it manually? If so, verify the "crond" service is running:

    Code:
    service crond restart
    Thank you.
     
    tribey2 likes this.
  3. tribey2

    tribey2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    Thanks a lot for getting back to me!

    I logged into my VPS and ran the top command and was told that 'A backup process is already running'. So I followed the options to 'watch the backup' and it says:

    'System load is currently 5.18; waiting for it to go down to 0.88 to continue'.

    So I think we've found the problem! I logged into my digital ocean account to have a look at CPU usage over the past 30 days. Prior to 19 May the CPU usage averaged at about 5% - but since 19 May it has jumped right up to a solid 99.9% and stayed there!!!

    So my next question is, is there any way to see what process is causing this?!

    Thanks again for your help.

    Rob
     
  4. tribey2

    tribey2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello again...

    Found it! It was a rouge Wordpress gallery plugin on one of the sites (that wasn't even activated) that appeared to be in an endless loop. I've killed the process in WHM, so hopefully this will now be resolved.

    Thanks for help with this!

    Rob
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page