The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Backups

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by rr1024, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. rr1024

    rr1024 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I went through the demos you guys have and I was wondering about something relating to Pesky Plesk.

    In their backup setup, (which actually does NOT work), you can schedule backups to be done at a specific time/day or every other day or basically when ever you want.

    You can set backups to a local directory on the server and/or you can have it backed up and the files automatically FTP to an IP address/ftp site off the host/server.

    I looked in both the backup icon areas and could not find anything like this feature.

    Basically this is great if you have, like I do a NAS200 on my home network. I pluged in the IP address of my router which is connected to my NAS200 drive bay. I forward port 21 to my nas200 and created an account on the nas200 with username/password.

    This is a great idea plesk had (again it's not 100% functional), but I was wondering if cPanel had any plans for something like this. It would allow you to keep a copy of your site at home and on your server if you had the disk space.

    I think there should be some extra selections like if you don't have the disk space then delete the file when done with ftp

    Also while I'm wishing lol It would be nice if you to exclude directories from the backup. For instance I don't see much point in backing up a directory that is nothing more than cache files...i.e. I use php a lot and I cache the html output in my /cache/ and I really don't need to back those up because, well, I can create them again.

    So if you would/could consider the above with
    time/scheduled backups
    directory excludion
    seperate scheduled content verses db could be nice too esp if you have a huge site with lots of content and large dbs
    file naming convention like mydomain.com_date/time.gz or zip
    ftp copy of backup or move backup via ftp

    I couldn't tell if you already had something like this?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Keep in mind our online demo is substantially limited in functionality as it is a public demo. For a thorough experience of all the functionality of cPanel/WHM, I recommend installing cPanel/WHM on a spare server with one of our no cost 15-day test licenses. You can grab a test license by going to the cPanel Store located at:

    http://www.cPanel.net/store

    Proceed as if you were purchasing a license. When prompted for which license you wish to acquire, scroll down and use the 15-day test license.

    Much of what you mention is already in cPanel/WHM, hence I recommend the test license so you can see this for yourself.

    Both server-wide and user-level backups can be backed up locally or off-site via FTP. Only server backups are automatic at this time.

    You can configure the cron jobs for cPanel backups and cPanel updates by going to WHM -> Plugins -> Configure cPanel Cron Times. If you do not see this, go to WHM -> cPanel -> Manage Plugins then check the box for cPanel Pro, follow the instructions to active that (currently free) plug-in and click save.


    There is already a feature request you can vote for regarding this functionality at:

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=2414
     
  3. rr1024

    rr1024 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello I tried registering but bugzilla did not send me a password. So to answer the guys question about why we would want something like this i.e. ignore backups of a specific directories.

    Here is my response, since it wouldn't work for me maybe someone else who is interested could post this for me that already has access?

    "Hello, I can field the why question.... I use PHP a lot and it puts a heavy load on the server. So to save load I created a cache system and in this case it is a user/profile system so there can be 100,000++ profiles all about 65kb to 120kb and to me this is a useless directory and files to backup."

    1. A directory such as this will eat up server resources during backups
    2. The files are recreated by the system so there really is no reason to back it up.
    3. Save time on backups releasing precious resources back to Apache where it's needed.
    4. Less chance of a corrupted backups because there are fewer files and less processing time.



    The orignal post is below
    It would be nice to use the $opts{exclude} in pkgacct to be able to exclude
    multiple files or folders from backups.

    file /etc/cpbackup_excluded_files.conf
    CONTENTS:
    \/home\/userdir\/public_html\/specific_folder
    any_folder_that_looks_like_this
    \/public_html\/\.
    END CONTENTS:

    when pkgacct loads load each line of this file into an element in an exclude
    array.

    in the safesync function of pkgacct where the exclude logic already exists have
    it look through the array instead of simply matching the one $OPTS{exclude}
    variable.

    The logic is already there. The only thing missing is the loop through an
    array. Also you would need to make sure this exclude array was available if it
    $argv[2] was backup (exclude logic applies to argv[2] being userbackup.


    ------- Comment #1 From Tim Ferguson 2005-05-05 15:39 [reply] -------

    I'm curious as to why?
     
  4. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    check out r1soft

    We use php heavy as well
    check out

    www.R1soft.com
    works very well w/ cPanel and Mysql
    gives you the ability to take numerous snapshots daily

    We do backups on the hour now - and takes virtually no server load

    Awesome stuff !

    :D
     
  5. rotame

    rotame Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Athens,Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Seems very good :D and very powerfully.
     
  6. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I check my WHM, I already have check the cpanel pro before, and I didn't see Configure cPanel Cron Times in my Plugins area.
     
  7. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just found what the problem is, DavidG didn't said we should check also the option for cronconfig , after check that box, now I can see what he said.
     
Loading...

Share This Page