The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel bandwidth reporting HELP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mm1250, Mar 6, 2008.

  1. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    in WHM i want to view the bandwidth per customer which I can do fine but it seems it doesn't report the OUT traffice, only the IN traffic. Anyone know a way to monitor IN traffic. I am trying to locate a customer who has almost 7MB of constent IN traffic according to my bandwidth logs.
     
  2. viraj

    viraj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    AFAIK, cPanel/WHM calculates both, Inbound & Outbound traffic, & that too correctly. I've never come across any such issues.. :rolleyes:
    I'd recommend you to re-run the weblogs [ /scripts/runweblogs <username> ] manually for that account. Hope that helps :)
     
  3. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can Someone else confirm this. I am looking at my Datacenter graphs and it shows this month In and Out. Well cPanel matches the IN traffic

    cPanel says MTD I did 124GB

    MTRG from datacenter says I did total 209GB, 155GB IN in and 53GB OUT. Now I do weekly backups which is around 30GB data so I guess I subtract 155-30GB =

    125GB IN from datacenter logs, cPanel shows 124GB in. So it's pretty much a match.

    But my OUT of 53GB does not show.
     
    #3 mm1250, Mar 7, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2008
  4. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    anyone please. . . .
     
  5. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm still having issues with this. Can someone please help me. I need to know how to monitor IN traffic in cPanel.
     
  6. jrehmer

    jrehmer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    cPanel cannot monitor every piece of traffic. It's likely that the traffic was something other than HTTP, SMTP, FTP, and POP3/IMAP.
     
  7. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes, I see it monitoring traffic OUT which is from server to client. But I can't get it to monitor IN traffic. From Client to server. For example. Yestrday a client FTPed 10GB worth of files but in the bandwidth reporting it doesn't show up what he FTPed in. Only what is served out the server.
     
  8. jrehmer

    jrehmer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Hello,

    If it's not counting inbound FTP traffic I recommend opening a support ticket with cPanel as something isn't right if that's the case.

    Regards,
    Jesse
     
  9. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a dedicated server with ThePlanet that provided me the cPanel lic. How does it work for support? Do I have to deal with ThePlanet?
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    FTP inbound does not count against a user's quota. Same for cPanel inbound traffic.
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If ThePlanet is your cPanel Licensing provider, you should contact them regarding this issue first. If they cannot sort out this issue, their staff can contact our support team for further assistance.
     
Loading...

Share This Page