The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Branding Error ...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bsamson, Dec 30, 2004.

  1. bsamson

    bsamson Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello.
    I recently had a new server setup and loaded ofcourse w/ cPanel/WHM. I keep attempting to upload the images for branding, however I keep encountering the following error:

    Security error, cannot setuid to user root (below uid 99) Branding Image uploaded! (top_01-sm_1)

    I am brand new to linux servers, therefore very new to cpanel. Can someone please explain what this error means, and how to fix it.

    Thanks in advance!

    Best Regards,
    BRian
     
  2. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please run /scripts/updatenow and try again. Let me know if it still doesn't work.
     
  3. bsamson

    bsamson Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Appreciate the reply, however it did not fix the problem. Same Error. Please any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

    Best Regards, and happy new year!
    Brian
     
  4. bking

    bking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney
  5. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This issue was addressed in a recent change to safetybits.pl. Now that we are using distinct version trees for Stable, Release, Current, and Edge for the /scripts directory, you may not have those changes with your version. Try moving to Edge and attempt the upload. Let me know if it doesn't work. Afterwards you can move back to your preferred build.
     
  6. bking

    bking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney
    Is there a timeframe for these changes to be merged into release?
     
  7. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry, I see that doesn't address the issue. I'll look further into this problem.
     
  8. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've just confirmed that this issue is resolved in Edge and Current builds.
     
  9. bsamson

    bsamson Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That did it! The Current Build fixed the error. Thanks for all your help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page