The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel Branding Icon Transparency Issues ?

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by n0rbertt, Mar 7, 2009.

  1. n0rbertt

    n0rbertt Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Working on a new cpanel skin and when I go to change out the icons , it seems the transparent part of the icon is black ?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Before I attempt to replicate this issue, please let me know which image format you are using for the transparent icons. Are you using GIF or PNG or something else?
     
  3. rachelm

    rachelm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Actually David I've found it happens with both formats. Our CPX program is supposed to be a red X on a transparent background, but when you put it into cpanel it becomes a red X with a black background
     
  4. carbonturtle

    carbonturtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    PNG icon, transparent regions showing black in cPanel

    Hi,

    I'm having the same problem. Did you figure out why this was happening, and how to get the transparent regions to display properly?

    I don't know where the icon images are kept in the cPanel filesystem-- I just fed my PNG to the Plugin installer generator. So when I want to update my icon, the only way I know how to do it is make another installer, and install over the previous installation. Seems cumbersome. Any advice or tips?

    Thanks--
     
  5. carbonturtle

    carbonturtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, I think I found where cPanel stashes the icon:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x3/branding/myplugin.png
    I downloaded this file via FTP and examined it-- sure enough, the background (which is supposed to be transparent) is black. Then, I replaced it with a 32x32 PNG with correct transparency. But it still displays with black background in cPanel!

    I tried rebuilding the sprites:
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_sprites
    I tried (randomly) touching the dynamicUI.conf file:
    Code:
    touch /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x3/dynamicui.conf
    No luck. Looking forward to receiving some expert advice... :)
     
  6. rachelm

    rachelm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    only thing I can think of that might work (and I haven't tried it yet actually) is just use a white background instead of a transparent one
     
  7. carbonturtle

    carbonturtle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Actually, that's what I ended up doing. But I'm not crazy about that solution because it won't display properly if somebody uses a theme where the panel background is some other color. For now, though, it looks good. Thanks for your feedback.
     
Loading...

Share This Page