The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel branding

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jmc67, Mar 2, 2003.

  1. jmc67

    jmc67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The new stable release has the option of cpanel branding. After updating cpanel , the default cpanel image is broken and even if I
    upload an image to the cpanelbranding folder that is also broken. Any one else tried this?
     
  2. trakwebster

    trakwebster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I *think* I had the same experience.

    If you are talking about 'BlueLagoon', the very first thing that appears at the top of the frame is the buttons for 'Home' etc. There is nothing above these buttons.

    When I enabled branding on the new stable release 97, it gave me a few paragraphs of text, including how to use BlueLagoon as an example. I tried it, but see neither my image (cp.gif) nor any cpanel image at the top of the BlueLagoon display.

    I noticed that the 'branding' option also created folders in my reseller account for 'default' and 'iconic'. I threw the image into these folders as well, but nothing changed onscreen for these themes -- they still show the cpanel logo as before.
     
  3. YukFoo

    YukFoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same experience here, branding is currently a dud.

    It'd also be nice if we could enable or disable this per reseller. Like I'd like to charge a reseller say, $10 bucks for the setup.
     
    #3 YukFoo, Mar 2, 2003
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2003
  4. jmc67

    jmc67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I did the same thing you did trakwebster. However the only thing on the top left in bluelagoon is a broken image.
     
  5. rbmatt

    rbmatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nope, this feature does not work for us either.
     
  6. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Erm, Is it just me or do you guys get the following message if your accessing from as the servers root user:

    "Sorry, cPanel branding is only for resellers!"

    Surely the root user should be able to use this feature too?!?

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
  7. rbmatt

    rbmatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, the way branding works (or is supposed to) is that it gets the files from /home/username. Since there is no /home/root, it would not work this way. I guess they figure root would be able to clone a theme and brand it themselves.
     
  8. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well I suppose I could just clone and brand myself.

    Was just looking at the option and thought is was odd!

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
  9. jmc67

    jmc67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I changed this so that it shows the default logo in bluelagoon

    pico /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/bluelagoon/stdheader.html


    Changed
    <img src="<cpanel branding="image(cp)">">
    <!--<!img src="<cpanel printvar="dprefix">cp.gif">-->


    to
    <img src="<cpanel printvar="dprefix">cp.gif">

    Until they fix this.
     
  10. rbmatt

    rbmatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, there were 12 updates Saturday... 1 Sunday... none today... How long will he have to wait?
    Has anyone thought of a workaround?
    I almost thought of making a module for it... but by the time I finish, it will be fixed!
     
  11. YukFoo

    YukFoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just tried it and it's still not working. :eek:
     
  12. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I did nothing to play with our branding but now the CPanel logo is showing as a broken image in our clients cpanel. Tonight, I decided to play with it, but I get the following message (as Neil pointed out)

    Sorry, cPanel branding is only for resellers!
     
  13. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It will be a long time before this is fixed. :(

    I don't know why DarkOrb insists on bringing out broken features, but this is another one of them. Due to the way the coding is done, the "Branding" feature requires a lot more work before it will work properly.

    Best bet for now is to ignore it and change the file mentioned above by jmc67. You don't have to remove anything though, just re-arrange the Comment code.

    Use Vi or Pico and change this file:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/bluelagoon/stdheader.html

    Change
    <img src="<cpanel branding="image(cp)">">
    <!--<img src="<cpanel printvar="dprefix">cp.gif">-->

    To
    <!-- <img src="<cpanel branding="image(cp)">"> -->
    <img src="<cpanel printvar="dprefix">cp.gif">
     
  14. rbmatt

    rbmatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, this functionality is kinda there already....
    I was hoping CPanel would have a nice innovative new way, but here's what you can do.
    <cpanel ExampleModule="printfile(/home/username/cpanelbranding/logo.txt)">
    And in logo.txt, have <img src=http://domain.com/logo.gif>
    Or, you can put plain text (in html).
    Just make sure to use the full path (with the http://) because otherwise it will try to call it from the /frontend/ directory
     
  15. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The problem was that the feature wasn't included/turned on. This has been corrected in EDGE build 107, RELEASE build 108, and STABLE build 109.
     
  16. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm running Edge 107 and still getting 'Sorry, cPanel branding is only for resellers!' This is my server WHM...I have not tried any resellers WHM's yet.
     
  17. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually, that msg. is correct. Due to the way WHM/Cpanel is setup there are basically, two kinds of accounts; Reseller & Client. Only Reseller accounts have the option to do Branding and thus, will only be available from within a Reseller WHM.
     
  18. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the reply Rob. I was looking for an *easy* way to take care of branding in our own accounts. I assume that it would work if our accounts were owned by us and not root.
     
  19. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your welcome, Tom. I'm presuming it's a built-in security feature.

    Just as one should always log into the Server under a Shell account and then switch to root, not having accounts owned by 'root', but a Reseller instead, also gives one more level of security. Once the Reseller account is setup for your own Clients and/or your own use, it's pretty easy to maintain after that.

    Also makes it easy when providing anonymous Reseller packages. :)
     
  20. rwdcsi

    rwdcsi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have stable 109 and it is still broken.

    I had copy the desired logo into /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/bluelagoon/branding/cp.gif
    to get it displayed.

    Very nice feature and looking forward to correct functionality.
     
Loading...

Share This Page