The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel can't upgrade

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gvard, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. gvard

    gvard Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens/GREECE
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Greetings from Greece,

    In the last 10 days cPanel can't update. To be more exact, when the server tries to run wget and download updates from cPanel, it downloads a few kilobytes of data and then stops. I have 4 other cPanel servers on the same rack with no problems downloading from cPanel. The server that has the problem has no problem downloading with wget from other destinations, only from cPanel.

    To show the problem, these are a few wget requests which show how many kilobytes are being downloaded before wget stops. I've tried rebooting the server with no problem.

    -----------------
    root@pluto [~]# wget http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/cpanel/base/resetpass.cgi
    --11:02:26-- http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/cpanel/base/resetpass.cgi
    => `resetpass.cgi.6'
    Resolving httpupdate.cpanel.net... 70.87.220.252, 74.200.65.162, 208.74.123.20, ...
    Connecting to httpupdate.cpanel.net|70.87.220.252|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 2,954,836 (2.8M) [text/plain]

    0% [ ] 12,066 --.--K/s ETA 1:07:15
    root@pluto [~]# wget http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/cpanel/base/resetpass.cgi
    --11:02:45-- http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/cpanel/base/resetpass.cgi
    => `resetpass.cgi.7'
    Resolving httpupdate.cpanel.net... 70.87.220.252, 74.200.65.162, 208.74.121.38, ...
    Connecting to httpupdate.cpanel.net|70.87.220.252|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 2,954,836 (2.8M) [text/plain]

    0% [ ] 17,538 3.34K/s ETA 14:18
    root@pluto [~]# wget http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/cpanel/base/resetpass.cgi
    --11:02:53-- http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/cpanel/base/resetpass.cgi
    => `resetpass.cgi.8'
    Resolving httpupdate.cpanel.net... 70.87.220.252, 74.200.65.162, 208.74.121.37, ...
    Connecting to httpupdate.cpanel.net|70.87.220.252|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 2,954,836 (2.8M) [text/plain]

    0% [ ] 10,698 2.04K/s ETA 23:29
    root@pluto [~]# w
    11:03:16 up 11 min, 2 users, load average: 0.53, 0.65, 0.47
    USER TTY FROM LOGIN@ IDLE JCPU PCPU WHAT
    root pts/0 195.167.65.105 10:56 5:54 0.05s 0.01s pico -w -z .bash_history
    root pts/1 195.167.65.105 10:57 0.00s 0.03s 0.00s w
    root@pluto [~]# wget http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/cpanel/base/resetpass.cgi
    --11:03:42-- http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/cpanel/base/resetpass.cgi
    => `resetpass.cgi.9'
    Resolving httpupdate.cpanel.net... 70.87.220.252, 74.200.65.162, 208.74.121.37, ...
    Connecting to httpupdate.cpanel.net|70.87.220.252|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 2,954,836 (2.8M) [text/plain]

    0% [ ] 5,226 --.--K/s ETA 16:08:58c
    root@pluto [~]#
    ---------------------------

    The issue is that as cPanel staff said in my ticket, cPanel is now broken due to incomplete upgrade and I can't even access WHM :(

    Any ideas would be appreciated. Have you experienced this thing before? :(
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    cPanel support didn't suggest to run /scripts/upcp --force
     
  3. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You have a bad network card, buggy network driver, or mis configured/faulty network equipment. Drop an intel eepro100/e1000 in it and I'm sure it will be fine.
     
  4. gvard

    gvard Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens/GREECE
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    The problem isn't with the network card, the server is a Hewlett-Packard ProLiand DL380G4 and has been working fine for about 10 months now, since it was initially installed. Anyway, I contacted Acunett and I got the following response:

    ---Snip!---Snip!---Snip!---
    I set one of the httpupdate servers to 8.10.120.130 manually by adding it to
    /etc/hosts and it seems to be much faster. My guess is there is a bad route
    somewhere causing this. Let us know about any firewall issues and I'll notify
    our network admin to see if he can spot anything.
    ---Snip!--Snip!---Snip!----

    The server is working fine now. I don't know what was the exact problem, but it didn't have anything to do with my NIC card or with me running upcp --force.
     
Loading...

Share This Page