The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel changing permission in httpd.conf

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by omenix, Aug 28, 2005.

  1. omenix

    omenix Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    /dev/null
    Does anyone here have a problem which is the cpanel changing the permission for /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf to:

    ls -l /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
    -rw------- 1 root root 199195 Aug 28 08:11 /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    This is happened to me all the time when Im trying to update a new version of cpanel
    So I have to manually chmod 644 to httpd.conf so my client doesnt reviece the error
    "Unable to read /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf!"

    I have 20 servers running on cpanel. If this happened to me everytime I update then I die :mad:
     
    #1 omenix, Aug 28, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2005
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The latest version of cPanel (RELEASE and up) is meant to have httpd.conf chmod to 600, it's part of the new security model that has been implemented.
     
  3. omenix

    omenix Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    /dev/null
    Yes indeed but on client side they had an error "Unable to read /bla/bla/httpd.conf!"
     
  4. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I had this problem on one of my server and updating to 10.6.0-R55 solved the problem.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you find a reproducable bug that isn't fixed in EDGE, then you should log it in bugzilla so that cPanel are aware.
     
  6. Arjoon

    Arjoon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have marked my cPanel only for STABLE upgrades and am just wondering why i got this bug? :confused:
     
  7. shashank

    shashank Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    May be you upgraded beyond 10.4 and then downgraded to 10.2 stable. Thats why you have this issue.
     
Loading...

Share This Page