Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cpanel + cluster

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by cytopia, Mar 17, 2004.

  1. cytopia

    cytopia Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    So, if I had 2 servers clustered, someone installed a root kit on one, would it install it on the otherone? --- meaning the 2nd so-called "backup" server is no use

    thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Depends on what type of clustering you are speaking of.

    The "clustering" in cPanel as of now is simply DNS clustering, there is no real clustering yet.

    If you had boxes clustered as in load balanced, with same content on two servers, than yes, that's what this would mean.
     
  3. cytopia

    cytopia Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    So DNS Clustering, it wouldn't install these files to the second box?
    is this instantaneous too, yes i mean the CPanel clustering.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    There is no such thing as cPanel clustering..

    Here's a pretty decent tutorial/howto on DNS clustering though:

    http://www.cpanelfaq.org/004/98.html
     
  5. cytopia

    cytopia Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    So DNS clustering (as in the one included with CPanel) only resolves the servers?

    it doesn't copy files between them?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice