The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel cpbackup script hanging up and terminates

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by sharmaine001, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a problem with cpbackup

    For reasons I cant find out, it just freezes up and then terminates (I can no longer see cpbackup from top command)

    Anything that can fix this issue? What can cause this behavior?
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    The backup logs are saved under /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/ directory. Checkout the logs and you may find a clue.
     
  3. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have already done that but nothing in the logs is helpful

    The last entry there is "Accepted data connection" and that's it

    It backed up a few accounts but not all. It just halted for unknown reason

     
  4. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Looks like you configured the backups using Ftp. If that's the case, at a time, one domain is backed up and Ftp'ed to the remote server. When it is copied to the remote server, the next domain is backed up. If for some reason, Ftp fails, the backup processes stops immediately. You will have to make sure if Ftp is working fine from your server.
     
  5. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Please toggle the passive mode option in the backup configuration, and then force cpbackup to run once more; immediately following the command please use "tail -f" to follow and watch the cpbackup log file:
    Code:
    # /scripts/cpbackup --force
    If there is a firewall on either of the two servers, please temporarily disable both firewalls while cpbackup is running to ensure they are not interfering.
     
  6. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    To clarify, the passive mode option is found at the following menu path (via WHM) and is labeled as seen below:
    WHM: Main >> Backup >> Configure Backup
    FTP Backup Passive Mode (required if you are behind a firewall or FTP backups fail)
     
  7. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am encountering this problem too!!

    Net::FTP>>> Net::FTP(2.77)
    Net::FTP>>> Exporter(5.58)
    Net::FTP>>> Net::Cmd(2.29)
    Net::FTP>>> IO::Socket::INET(1.29)
    Net::FTP>>> IO::Socket(1.29)
    Net::FTP>>> IO::Handle(1.25)
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x83729c0)<<< 220 FTP Server
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x83729c0)>>> USER user here
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x83729c0)<<< 331 Password required for user
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x83729c0)>>> PASS ....
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x83729c0)<<< 230 User user logged in
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x83729c0)>>> QUIT
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x83729c0)<<< 221 Goodbye.

    I have already have passive mode checked
     
  8. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have tried to force the cpbackup and it created the accounts and transferred some but not all. Looks like it is being "terminated" for reason I don't know!

    When i checked the logs it stopped here:

    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x8113758)<<< 150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for user.tar.gz

    I checked the running processes and cpbackup is no longer there. So it appeared this is being terminated in the background

    What can be the cause of this??
     
  9. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any help please?
     
  10. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Friendly Moderator Note

    Please do not cross-post about the same issue in different threads; this thread is distinctly different in that there is a logged time-out involved, and not the theory of the cpbackup process terminating. To prevent and reduce confusion the posts will be moved to your original thread regarding cpbackup and possible process termination.

    Given the reported details I believe this is best handled via a support request as direct access is needed to properly investigate and diagnose the difficulty that is being experienced. It appears you may already have a new ticket open at this time and it is being looked-into. Please continue correspondence within the active ticket.
     
    #10 cPanelDon, Mar 12, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2010
  11. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay your admin escalated it to your level2 admin for resolution
     
Loading...

Share This Page