The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel cron errors

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kernow, Jun 25, 2014.

  1. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After recent upgrade to 11.44 were getting following email errors;
    Ideas to fix are welcome :)
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Are you using CageFS? If so, use a command such as "cagefsctl --list" to see if it's enabled for the mailman user. If it is, disable it via:

    Code:
    cagefsctl --disable mailman
    Thank you.
     
  3. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    We are using cagefs but mailman is not listed as enabled.
     
    #3 kernow, Jun 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2014
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The following errors occured:
    Code:
    /scripts/fixmailman
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/update", line 802, in <module>
        errors = main()
      File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/update", line 692, in main
        errors = errors + dolist(listname)
      File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/update", line 222, in dolist
        mlist._UpdateRecords()
      File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/Mailman/ListAdmin.py", line 579, in _UpdateRecords
        assert False, 'Unknown record format in %s' % self.__filename
    AssertionError: Unknown record format in /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/lists/domain.uk/request.pck
    Setting mailman permissions.
    Setting mailman lists permissions.
    Purging mailman queue.
    Restarting mailman.
    Ah! looks like a problem with a clients domain mailing list . Removed the list and now no errors.
    Thanks Michael :)
     
    #5 kernow, Jun 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2014
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. bsich

    bsich Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having a similar problem but don't want to delete the list as I own it and would prefer not to rebuild it.

    Code:
    /scripts/fixmailman
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/update", line 802, in <module>
        errors = main()
      File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/update", line 692, in main
        errors = errors + dolist(listname)
      File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/update", line 222, in dolist
        mlist._UpdateRecords()
      File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/Mailman/ListAdmin.py", line 579, in _UpdateRecords
        assert False, 'Unknown record format in %s' % self.__filename
    AssertionError: Unknown record format in /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/lists/xxx-exec_yyy.org/request.pck
    Setting mailman permissions.
    Setting mailman lists permissions.
    Purging mailman queue.
    Restarting mailman.
    
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  9. theallan

    theallan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I'm also seeing this problem and I was wondering if anyone might be able to help.

    If I run `fixmailman` I get:

    I have transferred the domain from one server to another, but it is not clear if it was working immediately after the transfer, or if it has cropped up since then (the list admin can't remember).

    How might this be resolved?

    Thanks,
    Allan
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you provide more information about the steps you have taken thus far? For instance, have you reviewed the previous replies to this thread (e.g. CageFS issue)?

    Thank you.
     
  11. theallan

    theallan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Sorry yes, I meant to mention CageFS - CageFS is not used on this machine. It is a CentOS 6.5 server with WHM 11.44.1 build 18 on it.

    I tried the fix mailman script as I indicated above, but it gives the error above. I also tried remove the `request.pck` file that the error mentions and also replacing it with an empty file, but always get the same error.

    Thanks,
    Allan
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  13. theallan

    theallan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    They were transferred from one server to another, does that count as a backup and then restore?

    Thanks,
    Allan
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, transfers would also apply. Internal case number 109093 addresses this issue so it does not happen again, but it does not fix existing lists already effected by the issue. Have you tried removing the .pck file and not creating an empty one to see if the issue persists?

    Thank you.
     
  15. theallan

    theallan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Okay, I've renamed the file and then the `fixmailman`script and get a warning about not being able to acquire a lock:

    > WARNING: could not acquire lock for list: committee-list_myDomain.com

    I also get the same error as above about the unknown record format for another list. Fixing that results in above lock not being acquired and the next list showing the same issue.

    So before I got through all of the lists renaming the file to hide it, should I do something about the warning?
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can proceed without addressing the "could not acquire lock" messages. Those should go away after accessing the mailing list.

    Thank you.
     
  17. theallan

    theallan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Okay thanks - I've gone through all of the lists on the server and performed that action. When I run the fixmailman script now it completes without any errors (a few lock warnings) as above, but no errors.

    However, now when I try to access the mailman admindb page for a list it just hangs. Enter the password and then nothing. No errors in the mailman log and no abnormal load on the server. Reloading the access page and then entering the password again causes exactly the same again - just hangs.

    Thanks,
    Allan
     
  18. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  19. theallan

    theallan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks - i've opened a ticket. Before I paste the id, I presume that only myself and cPanel staff can view the information in the ticket?

    Thanks,
    Allan
     
  20. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that is correct.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page