The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPanel Daily Backup Seems Wrong

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WestBend, Apr 3, 2005.

  1. WestBend

    WestBend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I installed CPanel Pro yesterday.
    I am running
    WHM 9.9.9 cPanel 9.9.9-R14
    RedHat Enterprise 3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    cd : /backup/cpbackup/daily
    Command : /scripts/cpbackup
    Response : Daily Backup is up to date
    Command : ls -lhSt
    Response
    -rw------- 1 root root 5.9M Apr 2 01:08 xxxxxxx.gz


    100 + zips all showing around 2am April 2nd.
    Why is CPanel telling me that the daily backups are up to date? They are more than 24 hours out.

    command : date
    Response : Sun Apr 3 12:14:05 CDT 2005

    Server time and date is correct. Is this something to do with DST last night?

    Any help is greatly appreciated. I have physical server move coming up tonight and would like uptodate backups.
    Anyway I can force it?
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    To force a backup
    rm -f daily
    /scripts/cpbackup

    As to why it happened? Could be a few things.

    1. ps -ef |grep cpbackup <- stale process possible
    2. Load may be too high


    Try those out.
     
  3. WestBend

    WestBend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks dgbaker for the quick reply.
    I hadnt thought of just deleting the files to force it lol
     
  4. WestBend

    WestBend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    rm -rf Soultion worked.
    No Stale Processes and the load was definately not a factor.
     
  5. ymfm

    ymfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brazil
    My load goes higher than 1 the backup stops

    02:02:36 up 31 days, 22:32, 2 users, load average: 0.61, 0.95, 1.25
    117 processes: 112 sleeping, 2 running, 0 zombie, 3 stopped
    CPU states: cpu user nice system irq softirq iowait idle
    total 0.0% 0.0% 0.4% 0.0% 0.0% 1.0% 98.6%
    Mem: 1026988k av, 1011152k used, 15836k free, 0k shrd, 117412k buff
    766448k actv, 142956k in_d, 15368k in_c
    Swap: 2040244k av, 73640k used, 1966604k free 638252k cached

    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME CPU COMMAND
    6 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.3 0.0 34:49 0 kscand
    1 root 15 0 508 476 448 S 0.0 0.0 1:35 0 init
    2 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:10 0 keventd
    ....

    It starts to run and I receive the message above when the load goes over 1.0

    Waiting for load to go down to continue

    How can I increase this?

    Thanks for any help
     
  6. PPNSteve

    PPNSteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ilex Forest
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Ditto (my loads are MUCH higher.. )
     
Loading...

Share This Page