The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel demo ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by webraptor, Jan 12, 2005.

  1. webraptor

    webraptor Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    how do i create a cpanel demo account for my website visitors ?
    and how can i restrict them to be able to do only some things .
     
  2. Etheral

    Etheral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Follow this tree:

    Main >> Account Functions >> Disable or Enable Demo Mode

    once their its pretty self explainitory

    (this is for newer versions of WHM)
     
  3. webraptor

    webraptor Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I saw that function ... i created an account for it ... but won`t the user be able to set ftp account / mails , ans stuff like this ?
    If i enable demo to an account , what will this mean regarding it`s administration ?
    what will the users be able to do ? do i have to restrict something ? or it is automaticly restricted ?
     
  4. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You'd better be very careful there...

    The cpanel demo seems to have always been a security issue (for the reasons you're concerned about, able to create users, access, send spam mail, etc)... and I don't think its status has changed. If you enable the demo, make sure you exhaustively test it to make sure that everything is secured and untrusted users don't have access to anything they shouldn't.
     
  5. Donna

    Donna BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Let's put it this way... if cpanel.net themselves won't use their demo mode what do you think the chances are that you should? :P

    I actually have a non working cpanel demo just for that reason but it's old and written by the guy who originally made X theme. I'm working on making a more up to date one.
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    :selfish plug:

    That's another reason we started http://www.cpaneldemos.com we have servers dedicated to only hosting demo accounts. The servers are specially locked down to prevent events from happening while still allowing a function demo.

    Not a fancy site just a plain old text site for signups and ordering.

    :end of selfish plug:
     
  7. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Nice :) I agree that you probably should not be running the cPanel demo on a live machine...just seems like a bad idea that is prone to causing trouble. Perhaps cPanel could do a little work on it.
     
  8. Donna

    Donna BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Actually when my safe demo's are made the first thing I'm going to do is give them to Cpanel so they can include them from the start. The demo mode they have will never be safe and there's no need for a server dedicated "just" to demo accounts.
     
  9. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    There is need when it is business, and unless your "safe" demos are fully interactive including the ability to install/uninstall things like fantastico software, use multiple themes etc... then they are not a full demo. Either way I still would not put any demos on a server with real sites as you cannot lock the server down enough.

    And you're right people do not need a dedicated server for demos, that's the service we offer.
     
    #9 dgbaker, Jan 14, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2005
  10. Donna

    Donna BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Your sales pitches aside David the point is people want a demo they can use and not have to buy it from someone else.

    I personally don't see the need for a demo with fully working features. The purpose of a demo is to let people see what features they will be getting. They don't need to ability to actually use those features thus requiring them to lock down a dedicated demo box or pay someone else for it.

    That's why I have non working demo's and will be updating them to match current versions. Nobody's ever complained to me that they can't set up an account in my demo, however they do ask if that's all the features included (and it's only a small fraction).

    Therefore I'm making more modern versions which will be available for free to those that want them.
     
  11. sarcym

    sarcym Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Donna from Angelnetworkz.. or is that Kevin, Rachel ..

    I truly hope you get whats coming to you for all the scams that you have pulled and seemingly continuing to pull :)

    No need to reply, It'll just be bs anyways :)
     
  12. Ulysses

    Ulysses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here's a 100% safe, and relatively easy way to do this.

    1) Add a new (temporary) account you can browse to
    2) Enable Demo mode for that account
    3) Get an offline browser (like WinHTTrack WebsiteCopier) to copy the site
    4) Delete the temporary account
    5) Edit any of the copied html pages you need/want to
    6) Upload the lot to a password protected directory on your site

    ... and bingo! Robert's your nanny! :)

    Ulysses
     
  13. webraptor

    webraptor Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    nice ...
    thakjs dude
     
  14. Ulysses

    Ulysses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Forgot to mention:

    Do a search and replace right through the downloaded site for the username, password and URL you used for the temp demo site, because a web copier will hard wire it them all in the html ;-)

    Ulysses
     
Loading...

Share This Page