The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel denies our resolv.conf BUG

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mikerayner, Sep 21, 2003.

  1. mikerayner

    mikerayner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    from release 8.2 cpanel denies our upstream nameservers and ask for re-configuration claiming these are cpanel defaults but are not
    it denies:

    66.96.193.2
    66.96.194.2

    :eek:


    we cannot log into WHM and have to remove /etc/resolv.conf for accessing WHM then the same issue

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: :confused:
     
  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You really don't want to use those nameservers as they are overloaded and have a very long lookup time if they return a lookup at all.

    We have had tons of complaints about them.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I tested those nameservers at dnsstuff.com and the results were:

    Looking up at dns.burst.net.... Reports 1 A record(s). 61ms.
    Looking up at dns1.burst.net.... Reports 1 A record(s). 60ms.


    Average of all 2 nameservers: 60ms (plus 195ms overhead).

    Score: A

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. mikerayner

    mikerayner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks you are right we are not local to those nameservers
     
    #4 mikerayner, Sep 21, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2003
  5. salman

    salman Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That is not the problem. I've changed the resolv.conf settings numerous times to use global servers (eg: 4.2.2.1) and WHM is still stuck in a loop.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. lunaticss

    lunaticss Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Exactly the same issue we are having.

    We use our own nameservers internally and yet we were getting bombarded with the idiot popup. Now we can not go into WHM to make changes to our accounts because it wants to say we are using one of cpanels DNS resolvers.

    I need a resolution to this not the run around.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. BOL

    BOL Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is a bug. And it is creating more havoc than just the resolver.

    If I could log into a WHM, I'd report it as such. :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you manually confirmed the resolv.conf settings via a shell session into your server and checking the file /etc/resolv.conf?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. BOL

    BOL Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That will likely show what you had. It did in all my boxes.

    The fix is to remove everything except the nameserver 127.0.0.1 line. And then save that.

    You can go back and edit it later. But, this will fix the loop.
     
  10. purplepaws

    purplepaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    same problem here on one of our servers. tried all of the above methods and it keep on popping up - a real pain!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. BOL

    BOL Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Have you tried deleting resolv.conf all together?

    Seems like that should let WHM write the new one like it wants to.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. purplepaws

    purplepaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no still no luck :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. salman

    salman Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't generally use WHM to do anything. Also, I forgot to mention before, it's not my personal server but one of the servers located at the facility where I work.

    This is a hit-or-miss fix. On some machines this will work, on others it does not.

    This does not work either and is not a valid fix. Setting your resolver to localhost will only work well if you've already configured bind -- otherwise, your server will not be able to resolv anything.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. ronan675

    ronan675 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Need fix!

    I need this fixed. I cannot login to WHM at all. I need to setup new accounts!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. purplepaws

    purplepaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did anyone get a full fix for this? cPanel are looing into this for us, but its been a few days and its a bit of a pain not having access to WHM.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page