The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Design

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xous, Nov 8, 2008.

1. xous

xous Member

Hi,

I've been working as a system administrator for about two years now and I've got to say cPanel has made my job bit easier in some areas but made some things that should be extremely simple a real pain.

I'm trying to offer my thoughts as constructive criticism so cPanel gets better so please don't just delete this thread out of hand.

My first question is about the primary domain design. I just can't figure out why you insist on adding a sub-domain off the primary domain for each add-on domain. Why?

My second complaint is about input validation. If you are going to use the folder name as the sub-domain for an add-on domain PLEASE insure that the folder name is a valid DNS label. As far as I know you are using perl so this should be a simple regex one liner.

Third: PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE do your checks BEFORE you start diving in and modifying everything only to find out the operation fails and have to revert all the changes. This almost always results in an admin having to muck around in 99% undocumented configuration files to fix the issue or open a ticket with you guys to get you to fix it.

Adopt a decent structure for storing vhost information:

What is wrong with ~/vhosts/<vhostname>/{mail,www,logs}

Four: Verbose error messages when something does go wrong. e.g. Can't add a new parked domain because there is an existing DNS zone file in /var/named? Say So! If you don't do this for security reasons put it in the cPanel log file.

Five: We need Password complexity requirements. Since you don't use pam for ftp authentication, mail auth, etc these need to be implemented in cPanel.