The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel disk space used not correct

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by screege, Mar 27, 2008.

  1. screege

    screege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi I had some problems yesterday with a clients cpanel, he has 50mb of quota and cpanel is reporting to be using 20 mb out of his 50, when telneting to the server and giving a du -h to the server to my surprise the account is only using 5 mb in all directories, is there a way to fix or check this?

    Thanks in advanced.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are there any files owned by this user outside of their home directory? For example, are your backups stored on a partition with quotas enabled?
     
  3. screege

    screege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have backups but on ftp, and as far as I saw there are no other files by the user.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is this still happening? If so, try manually flushing the disk usage cache. Go to cPanel -> Files -> Disk Space Usage and in the "Actions" drop-down box halfway down the page, click "Clear File Usage Cache." See if that helps.

    If not, you may wish to submit a support ticket: http://tickets.cpanel.net/submit
     
  5. screege

    screege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I do not find the menu you are telling me, is it on the users cpanel? I have gone to file and to file manager but havent found that option

    Thanks
     
  6. screege

    screege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok found it and done it, i realized I have a lot of mb under tmp/webalizer adn tmp/analog, I have disabled this 2 stats programs and the only ones I use are the awstats can I delete this directories as root? Since as normal user cpanel is not allowing me.

    Thanks a lot
     
  7. screege

    screege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I deleted them from the disk space utility both directories and cpanel is still showing them with the spavce allocated I wnet and telneted to the users directory and the directories are gone but still cpanel is showing them. I putted the clear cache option and now they are gone but still cpanel is showing me the user is using 18 mb and when doing a du -h it shows only 11 mb.

    Thanks in advanced
     
  8. screege

    screege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have this under the disk space usage option of cpanel:

    Disk Usage Summary
    mail 2.89 Meg
    public_html 1.26 Meg
    other 0.29 Meg
    / 0.20 Meg
    etc 0.15 Meg
    tmp 0.11 Meg
    public_ftp 0.01 Meg
    Total 10.25 Meg

    this with du -h :

    11 M

    And this in the main cpanel window:

    Disk Space Usage
    18.01/50 MB
     
  9. Fernis

    Fernis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Is there a way to do this for all accounts on the server?
     
  10. screege

    screege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now I have the same problem on another email account cpanel tells me it is using 34 mb out of 50, so I deleted all emails and still cpanel is telling me it is using 34 mb I have flushed the cache and nothing.

    Thanks in advanced
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Disk space usage is only updated once periodically if you do not clear the cache manually. It is not realtime.
     
  12. arikstress

    arikstress Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hello ,

    perhaps this may help,

    goes to /$home/$usercpanel
    run : du -h / du -hs *
    goes to /$home/$usercpanel/.cpanel-datastore/ delet quota_v file then
    run : service cpanel restart


    if you are reseller and most of your client have same problem, then you may run :

    [~]# find /home/*/.cpanel-datastore/ -name “diskusage_*” | xargs rm -f
    [~]# find /home/*/.cpanel-datastore/ -name “diskusage_*” | xargs rm -f

    then restart cpanel service

    hope this works for you
     
Loading...

Share This Page