The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Disk Usage

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Arun, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. Arun

    Arun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I would like to clarify whether the disk usage shown in cPanel (or WHM > List Accounts) shows the whole disk usage of the account including its database usage or it it excluding its database usage?
     
  2. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That would be "Excluding".

    Currently at this time, databases are not counted towards the
    account usage in Cpanel although I wish they were but there are
    ways to monitor database usage now through 3rd party scripts

    In a similar vain, Cpanel doesn't provide any mechanisms for limiting
    the size of any given database that a user may have but rather
    just the number of databases instead.

    Some of these items may be changing in the next major Cpanel release
    so I hear through the grapevine but for now, database data is not
    counted among user's account usage although it really should be!
     
    #2 Spiral, Jul 12, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2009
  3. activa

    activa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morocco
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. Arun

    Arun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for enlightening me about it. I always thought that the disk usage shown was inclusive of database usage. I am surprised to know that is wasn't! I noticed it when I tried to backup an account and the backup file size was much larger than the cPanel disk usage, thats why I had a feeling the mysql database usage wasn't counted. I hope cPanel will make a change to this as soon as possible.
     
Loading...

Share This Page