Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED cPanel DNS ONLY can't access interface

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by inteldigital, Apr 29, 2018.

Tags:
  1. inteldigital

    inteldigital Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    I'm trying to set up a DNS cluster with cPanel DNS Only. I've just installed it on one of my VPS' and I am having difficulty accessing the interface.

    I intend to use the same domain as my main server, for the hostname, just a different prefix (example.example.com is main server, example1.example.com is DNS VPS), so the domain won't resolve yet, however I can't even access it from the IP:2087.

    firewalld isn't active on this installations, so it's not a port forward issue, right?

    Can someone help?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,928
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @inteldigital,

    Can you access the DNSOnly server using SSH? If so, run the following command to verify that cpsrvd is running on port 2087:

    Code:
    netstat -lnp | grep :2087
    The output should look like this:

    Code:
    # netstat -lnp | grep :2087
    tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:2087            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      17948/cpsrvd (SSL) 
    If it's running on port 2087, try following the steps documented below to ensure the firewall rules on your system are not blocking the connection:

    How to Configure Your Firewall for cPanel Services - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. inteldigital

    inteldigital Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi @cPanelMichael

    Thanks for your response. This turned out to be a DNS issue of some sort, affected by the domain used for the hostname not having an A record yet. It solved itself after I added the A record on the DNS.

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,928
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'm glad to see you were able to solve the issue. Thank you for sharing the solution.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice