The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel DNS-ONLY does it have WHM access?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by hicom, Sep 15, 2005.

  1. hicom

    hicom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does the DNS-ONLY version of cPanel have a limited WHM access ? We did a test installation on FreeBSD 4.11 and there were no Apache installed.
     
  2. Freezer

    Freezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Den Haag
    Why do you need Apache on a dns only box?
     
  3. hicom

    hicom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Don't need it. But I'd appreciate some instructions to generate the remote access key to setup the cluster properly.
     
  4. Webjunkie

    Webjunkie Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I believe WHM runs it's own webserver, so apache not being installed shouldn't prevent WHM from working. I don't know if WHM is included with a DNS-Only install, though.
     
  5. wadearnold

    wadearnold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    DNS-ONLY does not have /scripts/setrhash in order to create the hash for the cluster. I would also like to know how this is suppose to get configured. I have searched the threads here and can't seem to find the simple instructions on how to add it into the cluster to Synchronize Changes.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You have access to a stripped down WHM for the DNS-ONLY version on the usual ports (2086/2087) where you can configure the keys and the cluster configuration. You cannot change zone files through it though, that has to be done on the full cPanel server that it is linked to.
     
  7. wadearnold

    wadearnold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It amazing what happens to web based services when you turn off the iptables blocking the service!

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page