Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel - DNS Only - Licence?

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by vichardy, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. vichardy

    vichardy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Does the cPanel DNS Only solution require a licence to run it on a given server at all?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The cPanel DNS only product does not require purchasing a license for it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. vichardy

    vichardy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    awesome. Thanks :)
     
  4. vichardy

    vichardy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Another question...
    Can you run other services on the DNS only machine at all? I was thinking merely of using it as a backup option for clients and perhaps a "service announcement" page should a node go down on me.
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could run other services on it such as placing backups there for remote FTP from an cPanel machine or placing announcements on it for some webpage. Most people try to avoid too much extra activity on the machine to ensure it doesn't become latent, but it's up to you what you place onto the machine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice