The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel DNS only - Needs to change IP address

Discussion in 'Migrate to cPanel' started by ttanemori, Sep 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ttanemori

    ttanemori Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We have a WHM/cPanel server and DNS only server.

    DNS only is configured as clustering. In other words, it is one way synchronizing from main WHM/cPanel to DNS only cpanel.

    Now, due to the change of ISP, I have to change the IP address of DNS only server. What should I be careful to do this? Can I just change IP in the admin page of DNS only cPanel?

    After that, which file should I look to see if the DNS only cPanel is surely getting new data from the main WHM/cPanel server?

    Thank you very much.
     
  2. JeffP.

    JeffP. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi ttanemori,

    Though there are options to add and remove IP addresses while logged into WHM on DNSONLY as root, I am not aware of any options that will allow you to change the server's IP address.

    If you've previously added the IP addresses via WHM >> "Add a New IP Address", then you may be able to add the new IP address there. Otherwise, you would need to add it manually using the traditional methods (e.g., under /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ if you're using Linux).

    You would want to use the "Configure Cluster" links while logged into WHM as root on both servers to view the current cluster status. That will show you which cluster members are currently active.

    Please let us know if this helps.

    Thanks!
     
  3. ttanemori

    ttanemori Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for your reply. Actually, before I finished changing the IPs on DNS only cPanel server, it got crash. I had to rebuilt it. Now, main WHM/cPanel web server and DNS only cPanel server are connected as I planned (one way).

    I do not remember well, but somebody advised me that there is a small zone file on the server on which I can see synchronized date. I would like to confirm that DNS only cPanel server is surely getting zone records from the main WHM/cPanel server. Do you know where to look?

    Thank you.
     
  4. ttanemori

    ttanemori Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am just wondering if my setting is wrong.

    A: On the Cluster Configuration page of the main WHM/cPanel server

    host3.mydomain.com 173.251.xxx.xxx Synchronize change

    B: On the Cluster Configuration page of DNS only cPanel

    host.mydomain.com 67.227.xxx.xxx Standalone

    Did I choose "Synchorize change" and "Standalone" correctly? I read the explanation, but "this server" is unclear whether it is the server I am in or the server listed in the table. I am worried because I see that "host3.mydmain.com" zone appeared in the DSN function of server A.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is configured correctly. Synchronize is used for servers generating DNS records (cPanel&WHM servers) and Standalone is used for servers that aren't generating records. This doesn't control the flow or sharing of DNS records, all servers in the DNS cluster will eventually have all records. However, the "Synchronize" servers will push out their changes to other servers as soon as those changes happen, while "Standalone" servers wait for another server to pull changes from it.

    As far as files and timestamps go, they were probably referring to zone files. Usually an internet search will show you the location of zone files on your particular OS/distro.
     
  6. ttanemori

    ttanemori Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you very much. My DNS only cPanel finally began to work! Thanks again!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page