The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel DNS Only Setup

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by sozotech, Aug 14, 2013.

  1. sozotech

    sozotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I inherited 4 cPanel servers where they also act as the DNS servers and have clustering setup. I would like to separate the DNS functionality out to dedicated DNS servers. I am fairly new to cPanel and wanted to ask some questions in regards to it's setup/architecture.

    1) If I understand correctly the best setup is to have a direct link between each web server and each DNS server. On the web server side should I have the DNS servers listed as Standalone and on the DNS only server have the web server listed as Synchronize?

    2) Should I also have direct links between each DNS server? Do I need any links between web servers? I assume NOT but just want to make sure I understand how the sync works.

    3) In regards to moving new DNS only servers into the existing cluster, I assume there is no risk in syncing up an empty DNS server with the current web/DNS server which has all the zones? Do I need to break the any of the existing links on the existing cluster once I have the new DNS servers in operation?

    Thanks in advance for answering my basic questions!

    Eric
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    We do not recommend that you set up the nameserver to synchronize data to a web server. Instead, the web server should be configured to synchronize data to the nameserver. Full documentation on this is available at:

    Guide to DNS Cluster Configuration

    No, you should not link DNS-Only servers to each other, or web servers to each other.

    You can actually just add the new DNS-Only server to the cluster, and synchronize the zones from the web server to the DNS-Only server. You can remove the previous servers from the cluster when you are ready to use the new DNS-Only servers.

    Thank you.
     
  3. sozotech

    sozotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, I am still fuzzy on whether to set synchronize or standalone on each side. Is this how you would setup both sides in cPanel?

    webserver1 -> dns1 (Role: synchronize changes), dns2 (Role: synchronize changes), dns2 (Role: synchronize changes)
    dns1 -> webserver1 (Role: standalone)
    dns2 -> webserver1 (Role: standalone)
    dns3 -> webserver1 (Role: standalone)

    Thanks,
    Eric
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. sozotech

    sozotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you are correct. The left hand column is the server I am configuring via WHM.

    Thanks for you clarifying that.

    Eric
     
  6. sozotech

    sozotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, I enabled clustering and synchronized all the zones to all servers. One thing I noticed is that, in the /etc/named.conf each of the zones are listed twice like

    zone "domain.com" {
    type master;
    file "/var/named/domain.com.db";
    };

    zone "domain.com" {
    type master;
    file "/var/named/domain.com";
    };

    Named seems to be running fine and answering queries for all the domains but I am wondering if this is a bug or why this would happen?

    Eric
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's normal to see two entries for the zones in the /etc/named.conf file. The zones are likely listed under both the "internal" and "external" views.

    Thank you.
     
  8. sozotech

    sozotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have synchronized all zones from the current web/dns servers to the new DNS only servers. One thing I noticed is it appears to NOT copy over DNS zones that were manually added to the original server that do not have hosting setup on the local server. I did a push from the web/dns server in question via "Synchronize all zones to all servers" but I am still missing these manually added DNS zones.

    Is there a way to get these additional zones as well or am I missing something?

    Thanks,
    Eric
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  10. sozotech

    sozotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Should I do this on the source server or the destination (DNS Only) server?

    Eric
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should synchronize the zones on the source server. The DNS-Only servers are typically configured as a "Standalone" role, so changes made on those servers are not synced to other servers.

    Thank you.
     
  12. sozotech

    sozotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks. That took care of it. Sorry for all the basic questions.
     
Loading...

Share This Page