The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel DNS Only To Full version ?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by toozie, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. toozie

    toozie Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    is it possible to upgrade dnsonly to the full version of cPanel ? Or should i reset my hardisk and start from the beginning ?

    Thanks

    Toozie
     
  2. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Those are really two separate products ...

    I don't see why you couldn't go from the DNS Server to the full control panel.

    I would just make a backup of all you DNS server ZONE files just in case
    and then go ahead and install the regular Cpanel Control Panel. If for some
    reason your DNS files are blown away, you can just restore them again.
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A fresh install is always preferred.

    However, since cPanel DNS Only is just a stripped down version of cPanel/WHM, you could edit /etc/cpupdate.conf and set CPANEL=daily (this sets it to automatic RELEASE) and run /scripts/upcp.
     
  4. milindras

    milindras Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I also accidently installed cPanel DNSONLY. I have paid license for cpanel/WHM.
    So I neede to install full version. So I followed the above instructions.
    After running the update script do I have to do anything else?

    Could ypu please confirm this method is ok? because this is going to be a live web server.
    Or Shall I just start from the scratch? (re install the OS again)

    many thanks
     
  5. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We do recommend a fresh installation of the operating system and cPanel if at all possible, but the instructions cPanelDavidG gave are valid. Specifically, use vi or nano to edit /etc/cpupdate.conf and make the CPANEL= line look like this:

    Code:
    CPANEL=daily
    Save the changes to /etc/cpupdate.conf and run the following command:

    Code:
    # /scripts/upcp --force
    cPanel will update itself to the latest full RELEASE version.

    Note that you will need a valid license upon upgrading to the full version. Either acquire a trial license or purchase a full license before updating to the full cPanel version from DNS-only.
     
  6. milindras

    milindras Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Thanks for the update.

    After the upgrade I logged into the cpanel. Why it says its WHM DNS only?

    I already got a VPS license for the the IP address.
    Am I missing something? I can't see some menu items such as "Account Information" etc.
    I am very new to cpanel. I am a webmin user before.

    Thanks
     
  7. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please submit a ticket so that we may log into your server and correct these problems for you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page