The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel DNSOnly cluster

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Gastón, Sep 1, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Gastón

    Gastón Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'm migrating part of my shared hosting to a CPanel Platform And I want to understand something.

    I plan to have several Servers running CPANEL (Lets call them Servers A,B and C) and 2 DNS configured separately in cluster (DNS X and Y) because will no only serve CPanel created domains.

    After create X-Y DNS Cluster, how do I Configure the Servers A B and C to agregate the accounts domains to the DNS ? They have to belong also to the cluster ?

    Regards.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. albatroz

    albatroz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virtual Orbis / Peru
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, I am an in a similar crossroads

    My current VPS provider only gives me 1 IP per VPS so I am thinking of creating a DNS cluster as in the picture
    attached at - Removed -

    however I was wondering if a single DNS server using the DNS Only version can have several hostnames at the same time
    and work along with several DNS servers.
     
    #3 albatroz, Oct 22, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 22, 2016
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you provide some more information about this configuration? For instance, would the additional DNS servers utilize cPanel and/or cPanel DNS-Only?

    Thank you.
     
  5. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    A single DNS server can have multiple nameserver names attached to it, you just need to make sure those subdomains are set up with your domain registrar and pointed to the server. I'm sure of course you're aware that this is just a vanity configuration - if all of your nameservers are on the same box and that box goes down, so does your DNS.
     
  6. albatroz

    albatroz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virtual Orbis / Peru
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, we plan to use only CPanel servers for this setup.

    BTW, I am attached the picture deleted in previous post in case you missed it.
     

    Attached Files:

    #6 albatroz, Oct 25, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2016
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I advise using direct links instead, like the example at:

    Guide to DNS Cluster Configurations - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    We do not recommend that you set up the nameserver to synchronize data to a web server, because this creates extraneous zones on the web server. This means that you do not need to log in to WHM on the nameserver and set the web server's DNS role to Synchronize changes.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page