The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel doesn`t update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by the_bobara, May 6, 2005.

  1. the_bobara

    the_bobara Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    one of my boxes doesn`t update i tried everything but without success, it just hold it.
    i don`t know how to describe it more.
    how to resolve this problem?


    WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-R25
    CentOS 3.4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    excuse me for my bad English :eek:
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Posting what happens when you run /scripts/upcp would help together with the version you're currently running and the release tree you're trying to upgrade to.
     
  3. the_bobara

    the_bobara Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Code:
    root@teddy [~]# /scripts/upcp
    Found hostname to be teddy.domain.tld, which resolves to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    Hostname Virtual Host is already setup
    PHP version file is up to date
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    Checking /dev/hda....OK
    x - creating lock directory
    x - SKIPPING /usr/local/lib/php.ini (file already exists)
    /usr/bin/freshclam: relocation error: /usr/bin/freshclam: undefined symbol: cl_md5file
    Ftp Setup Script Version 6.0
    Fetching version information from [url]http://updates.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/version[/url] (RELEASE)....Done
    
    only this.
    this is the version
    WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-R25
    CentOS 3.4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
    #3 the_bobara, May 6, 2005
    Last edited: May 6, 2005
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Do you have a firewall installed and if so, have you opened up the ports required for cPanel updates?
     
  5. the_bobara

    the_bobara Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yes i have, i use APF filewall, but now i turned it off and tried to update and some situation :(
    where may be the problem?
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Have a check in /var/log/cpupdate.log
     
  7. the_bobara

    the_bobara Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Code:
    Sat Apr 30 20:50:50 EEST 2005
    Using layer2.cpanel.net
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/bin/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.152
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/bin/.cpanelsync.bz2....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.152
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/perl/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.1$
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/perl/.cpanelsync.bz2....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.152
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/whostmgr/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.1$
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/whostmgr/.cpanelsync.bz2....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.16$
    43%...86%...100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/src/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.152
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/src/.cpanelsync.bz2....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.152
    5%...10%...15%...20%...26%...31%...36%...41%...47%...52%...57%...62%...67%...73%...78%...83%...88%...94%...99%...100%......D$
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/3rdparty/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.1$
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/3rdparty/.cpanelsync.bz2....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.16$
    11%...22%...33%...45%...56%...67%...79%...90%...100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/3rdparty/etc/php.ini.bz2....52%...100%......Done[/url]
    Got file ./etc/php.ini ok (md5 matches)
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/cgi-sys/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.16$
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/cgi-sys/.cpanelsync.bz2....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164$
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/java-sys/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.1$
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/java-sys/.cpanelsync.bz2....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.16$
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/base/3rdparty/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69$
    100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/base/3rdparty/.cpanelsync.bz2....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.$
    13%...26%...39%...52%...65%...78%...91%...100%......Done
    Fetching [url]http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/x/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying[/url] httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.151
    100%......Done
    
    this file contents only this but this is from 30th of April...i`m trying to update cpanel every day including today
     
  8. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When upcp stops running, does it return the command prompt to you or do you have to kill it?

    Try /scripts/updatenow followed by /scripts/upcp this time. Please post any errors.
     
  9. the_bobara

    the_bobara Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    no it just hold the proces and i need to kill it.
    when i type /scripts/updatenow :
    Code:
    root@teddy [~]# /scripts/updatenow
    Sync Source: http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/RELEASE/scripts
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/scripts/.cpanelsync.lock....Trying httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.152
    100%......Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/scripts/.cpanelsync.bz2....Trying httpupdate.cpanel.net @ 69.72.164.152
    35%...71%...100%......Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/scripts/sysup.bz2....87%...100%......Done
    Got file ./sysup ok (md5 matches)
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/scripts/eximup.bz2....100%......Done
    Got file ./eximup ok (md5 matches)
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/scripts/quicksecure.bz2....100%......Done
    Got file ./quicksecure ok (md5 matches)
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/scripts/eximup~.bz2....100%......Done
    Got file ./eximup~ ok (md5 matches)
    
    but after /scripts/upcp only:
    Code:
    root@teddy [~]# /scripts/upcp
    Found hostname to be teddy.domain.tld, which resolves to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    Hostname Virtual Host is already setup
    
     
  10. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please submit a ticket, that'll be the quickest way to resolve this issue.
     
Loading...

Share This Page