Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel / Domain Proxy or VirtualHost

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gabrieltankw, Jul 21, 2015.

  1. gabrieltankw

    gabrieltankw Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Singapore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dear Support,

    I've installed WHM/CPanel on my VPS ip address x.x.x.x. The initial installations for both WHM and CPanel are completed. But I am facing some issues:

    Is it possible to configure in the CPanel/WHM panel to set the proxy/virtualhost so that the following can be achieved:
    Code:
    - [URL]https://x.x.x.x:2087[/URL] accessed by whm.domain.net
    - [URL]https://x.x.x.x:2083[/URL] accessed by cpanel.domain.net
    - [URL]http://www.domain.net/wp[/URL] accessed by hosting.domain.net
    
    
    Thank you.

    Yours Sincerely,
    Gabriel
     
    #1 gabrieltankw, Jul 21, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 21, 2015
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,384
    Likes Received:
    1,951
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. gabrieltankw

    gabrieltankw Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Singapore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    Thanks for the great help.

    (1) https://x.x.x.x:2087 accessed by whm.domain.net
    (2) https://x.x.x.x:2083 accessed by cpanel.domain.net
    (3) http://www.domain.net/wp accessed by hosting.domain.net

    (1) and (2) are working now as per your advice. But I am still trying to solve the (3).

    For (3), http://www.domain.net/wp is actually hosted on wordpress multi site. I wanted to be able to access http://www.domain.net/hosting/ by using the url hosting.domain.net.

    I tried the following:
    a) create a CNAME record of hosting.domain.net pointing to the same server ip x.x.x.x --> this works as hosting.domain.net was able to be resolved to the server ip x.x.x.x when I ping it.
    b) tried to configure with "Redirect" and also "Subdomains" in CPanel but it didn't work. When I visit hosting.domain.net I get a redirect to the URL domain.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi.

    I tried to bypass the wordpress site by creating a dummy folder and html page inthe Document Root. Similarly I configured Subdomains to point hosting.domain.net to public_html/dummyfolder. I was redirected to the URL domain.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi again...

    I really need help on solving this.... :S
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,384
    Likes Received:
    1,951
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Ensure you use "A" records for IP addresses and CNAME entries for actual hostnames when modifying DNS records. Could you not simply create "hosting.domain.net" as a subdomain on the "domain.net" account and configure the document root accordingly?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice