The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel don't display correct site content.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dnsfnk, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. dnsfnk

    dnsfnk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Support,

    Could you help me to understand cPanel behaviour.

    I have created WHM account (for example "giorgiom" for site.com) and moved sites content to public_html folder.

    Then I wanted to check customer's site and wrote into browser:
    http://11.22.33.44/~giorgiom/

    The styling of the index page was broken and didn't display correctly.

    After that I have modified /etc/hosts on my laptop like:
    11.22.33.44 site.com

    Next, I have opened http://site.com and saw correct customer's site with correct styling of the index page.

    Question: Why cPanel don't show correct styling and sometimes show different errors whereas http://site.com shows correct?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If the site is configured to use the full domain name in the path to an images directory or CSS for example, the images and CSS styling wouldn't be displayed properly. An easy way to take note of this might be to open that temp URL in your browser again and then go check the error log in your cPanel. Whats not displayed properly will be generating errors to that log I'm sure as it can't be found, the path is broken.
     
  3. dnsfnk

    dnsfnk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It helped. Thank you!
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You are certainly welcome. :)
     
  5. eile87

    eile87 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, i have a problem for a similar nature, when an account is created, clients could connect with a temporary url, for example: http://10.20.30.40/~testest/ waiting that dns are updated using is normale url Testest . Now there's a problem, temporary url returns this error:

    404 Not Found

    The server can not find the requested page:

    10.20.30.40/~testest/ (port 80)

    Please forward this error screen to 10.20.30.40's WebMaster.

    which configuration i left out?
    thank you for your answers
    Regards.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Is that the actual IP address you're using or just an example you've posted here?

    I'm going to take a guess and say you've created the new account using an incorrect IP address. Only a guess though.
     
  7. eile87

    eile87 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi infopro and thank you for your answer,

    no the ip that i have written here is a simple, account is created correctly by whm, if i go through browser at www. testest .com i haven't problem, 404 error is returned me when i go on 10.20.30.40/~testest/ . ip's account is correct
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you checked your settings here?

    WHM > Security Center > Apache mod_userdir Tweak

    You may need to exclude the site for this to work properly.
     
Loading...

Share This Page