The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel e-mail I'm getting - please help

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by yates, Aug 5, 2006.

1. yates

yates Member

Please tell me what I should do about this. I searched google and found nothing. It is sending this e-mail every day for the past few days:

There is a tcp_wrappers-7.6-39.i386.rpm on the root directory which I didn't put there.

When I do an uptime command it says there are 2 users even though I'm the only one telnetted in when I do a who command.

I'm fairly new to linux, please help. Thanks!

2. yates

yates Member

Also please note that I'm the only one using the server and I don't have any high profile domains on the server, so it's not like I'm a tempting target for attack. Thanks.

3. sumith

sumith Well-Known Member

Seems that you/somebody tried to upgrade the tcp_wrappers. If you are sure that you havent tried it, then scan the server to see if the server is compromised.

4. yates

yates Member

I haven't tried to upgrad tcp_wrappers, and I am the only one with access to the server. Would cPanel try to upgrad it automatically?

Also, can you point me to a resource that will help me learn how to scan the server to see if it has been compromised?

All I knew to do was look for any files with new timestamps to see what files may have been changed/uploaded and I couldn't find any out of the ordinary.

Thank you for your reply.

-
    Chris

5. yates

yates Member

well, I've completely reinstalled tcp_wrappers and all rpms that depend on it using yum, and I'm still getting this e-mail.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

6. mctDarren

mctDarren Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator