The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel error after change user root

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aldesha989, May 23, 2009.

  1. aldesha989

    aldesha989 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hello

    i have make change user root but i can not enter cpanel
    after change

    what i must do after change root user ?

    this way to change user root

    usermod -l new root
    groupmod -n new root
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    There is another command. Can you try using command sudo usermod -l <new name> root ?
     
  3. aldesha989

    aldesha989 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes but i'm allready enter server with root
     
  4. aldesha989

    aldesha989 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    any one can help me ?
     
  5. aldesha989

    aldesha989 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no one can help me :(
     
  6. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I would say cPanelDavid to look into this matter!
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you logging into WHM as user root?
     
  8. aldesha989

    aldesha989 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have change user root

    no user root in server i want enter the whm with new user
     
  9. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Let me see if I am understanding this correct.

    You changed the user root to someotherusername and now you can not login with the new user ?

    I don't think you can do this and have cpanel/whm work correctly.
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is not a scenario we support at this time.
     
  11. bdunlap

    bdunlap Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just to confirm: you're saying that only 'root' can log into WHM, right? There's no way to log into WHM as a user other than 'root'?

    Thanks, Ben
     
  12. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel users with reseller privileges (reseller users) can login to WHM as well. Reseller users can be granted full access to WHM.

    However, WHM is not designed to accommodate root users (a user with root access to the server, not just full access to WHM) having a username other than "root" at this time.
     
  13. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No. I am not saying that. I am saying we don't support changing the name of the root account. That is what this thread is about.
     
  14. aldesha989

    aldesha989 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I Thank If you Support This Will Amek Agood Thnik With secirty
     
Loading...

Share This Page