The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel/Exim dealing with other servers that implement greylisting

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ichthus, Mar 4, 2006.

1. ichthus

ichthus Registered

We have a local university that is implementing greylisting on their mailservers, and many of my users send mail through my cPanel enabled server. Many of these emails never get there and bounce back after about 5 days because exim isnt configured to send mail to servers that have this technique implemented. The "workaround" they suggest is to send the same copy of the email twice one time, and then it will work from then on. But only this sender/recipient combination is added to the whitelist, so you would have to do it for EVERY email address that you want to send to. I find this unacceptable.

Believe me, I am not a proponent of greylisting.... I think spammers could just get around it with that simple workaround if they wanted. But, other people in the world swear by it and are using it... so can we make our mail servers work with it?

Thanks-
    Kevin

2. AndyReed

AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

The best work around this issue is the university putting your IPs or domain names in their whitelist. For more information, read http://projects.puremagic.com/greylisting/whitepaper.html

3. ichthus

ichthus Registered

I'll try that, but what if there were 50 servers out there that implemented greylisting? Would I have to go to each and every one and request my server IP to be added to their whitelist?

4. ichthus

ichthus Registered

Also, their site says if the server was properly configured to meet "internet standards", then their servers would accept the mail no problem.
    http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc2821.txt

5. AndyReed

AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

I guess, unless otherwise :)