Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel Filters Not Working

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by neil154, Oct 30, 2014.

  1. neil154

    neil154 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I am using Inmotionhosting for my supplier and have significant issues with the filtering of email. They are using cPanel version 11.44.1 build 18.

    I have tried their support people and they are not helping and keep giving me excuses and until the next time I have a problem.

    For example, I have a filter which is set to reject any email which has a "from" which ends in "link" or any header ends in "link". Even with this filter I still get email that should be rejected by this filter (this is only an exple of one filter issue , i have others like this).

    Does anyone else have these same issue with my hosting company or another hosting company? I am researching switching hosting company and would like to learn about this since it seems that all of the hoster's I contacted use cPanel (nice to have a monopoly :)
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,260
    Likes Received:
    390
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Could you please post the exact rule to look at?

    Changing Hosting Providers due to a email rule not working? :rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. neil154

    neil154 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    First, I want to change suppliers because every time I speak their tech support, they are cluesless and either give me an answer which is flat out wrong or they tell me they will have to research the issue and get back to me. If they ever get back to me the response is usually wrong. Link Filtering.jpg BoxTrapper Queue.jpg

    I have attached the filter and also the Box Trapper Queue. The filter should just reject the "link" file and not even get into the Box Trapper Queue. Even though I am showing you the queue there are many other emails which end in "link" which get through to my inbox.

    I would appreciate any help you can provide.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,260
    Likes Received:
    390
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. neil154

    neil154 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,260
    Likes Received:
    390
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. neil154

    neil154 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks but I don't see any difference between the Regx and "contains" which I tried in other filters. If I am correct and this would reject anything that contains "link" I would prefer to have it work on ".link" (added the period). Do I just add the period to the filter or do I have to add a "/" also (from your previous post it appears I might need the "/".
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,961
    Likes Received:
    1,821
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I believe the post that InfoPro referenced should be helpful:

    Spam bypassing account level and user-level filters

    Based on the earlier screenshots you provided, you could simply replace ".eu" with ".link" in the example from the post above.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. neil154

    neil154 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks, I have given it a try, hope it works.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice