The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel firefox 3 problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shub_fritz, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. shub_fritz

    shub_fritz Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I'm a user of cpanel fo quite some time and never had problems with the software. But when i installed firefox 3 and then went on my cPanel everything goes wrong.

    First of all i made a post on the firefox 3 forums because i thought it was firefox 3 related (link: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=807255&st=0&sk=t&sd=a )

    But now i think its a cpanel related problem. anyway here goes my story.

    When opening 6 tabs in firefox 3 all on my sites cpanel then after loading all of them the last one gives a connectiontime-out, i try to refresh all of them and all of them turn out with a connectiontime-out error. My host says im temp banned for 30min... WTF happend i just made 6 connections...

    My host then starts to look in his configuration and his firewall but really cant see the problem, I was standing next to him and nope no problems at all.

    Now if i use internet explorer 7, and also go to my cpanel in 6 tabs, then nothing happens, ineternet explorer 7 just loads everything perfect, i go up to open 9 tabs and nothing happens again.

    Screenshots:
    (firefox 3, opening 6 tabs)
    http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff152/sbonline_shub/fritz-hut1.jpg

    (internet explorer 7, opening 9 tabs)
    http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff152/sbonline_shub/fritz-hut2.jpg


    A little list of things that i already checked or did
    • I made a new account and tested everything with it, this means that firefox 3 and internet explorer 7 are on there default settings
    • My host cant be the problem, else internet explorer 7 should give the same problem
    • Already contacted firefox 3 developers, they dont know whats going on

    So can anybody help me with this? thnx

    ~Shub
     
    #1 shub_fritz, Aug 21, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2008
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Is Firefox auto refreshing those pages? IE does not auto refresh. You may be opening 6 tabs but each page makes more than 1 connection to the server of course. And if FF auto refreshes you might be hitting the connection limit on his firewall.

    You might try having him whitelist your IP for a few moments to test this.


    Whats his logs say? Too many connections I guess.


    Using FF 3 here and can open many many tabs without issue.
     

    Attached Files:

    #2 Infopro, Aug 21, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2008
  3. shub_fritz

    shub_fritz Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thnx for the reply :)

    His logs said that i made too many connection and then got a temp ban.

    my ip is whitlisted but that doesn't include the temp bans... (only for real bans)

    ~Shub
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This doesn't seem to be an issue with cPanel as the built-in brute force protection only occurs for failed logins... and even then is transparent (rather than generating the page you see).

    Sounds like an issue with your hosting provider's firewall. Note, some Firefox Extensions will trigger enormous amounts of connections for every page you visit, that may be a contributing factor to this issue.
     
  5. boeki

    boeki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got a complaint from a client sometime ago similar to your problem and it turned out it was mod_evasive + ossec triggering the temp ban.
     
Loading...

Share This Page