The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel for subdomain?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ravenswd, Oct 8, 2011.

  1. Ravenswd

    Ravenswd Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is it possible to set up cPanel for a subdomain? I have a website, and I have a subdomain set up for a client of mine. I want to be able to set-up cPanel in such a way that I can go to mydomain.com/cpanel/ and access all of my files, and my client can go to subdomain.mydomain.com/cpanel/ and access of of theirs but not mine.

    Is this possible? Thanks.
     
    #1 Ravenswd, Oct 8, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  2. Ravenswd

    Ravenswd Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi. I've got my answer now. I asked my hosting company, Hostgator, and they had the answer because they are awesome.

    In case anyone else wants to know, here's the procedure:
    1) Don't create the subdomain in cPanel. This was the mistake I made. If you've already created it using cPanel, you need to delete it. (Obviously, after first backing-up any files you may have there.)
    2) In WHM, go to "Create a new account". For Domain, enter subdomain.domain.com. Proceed as normal from there.

    That's pretty much it. There will be a few key differences when you create a subdomain in this manner. Specifically:

    Creating a subdomain using cPanel:
    Files are located in /home/domain/public_html/subdomain/
    Subdomain admins cannot use cPanel
    Domain admins can see all of Subdomain's files
    Subdomain appears in WHM's list of subdomains

    Creating a subdomain using WHM:
    Files are located in /home/subdomain/
    Subdomain admins can use cPanel
    Domain admins cannot see Subdomain's files
    Subdomain does not appear in WHM's list of subdomains

    There are a few other differences as well, but those are the important ones.

    I hope this helps anyone else who was in the same boat I was.
     
  3. aloeindica

    aloeindica Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have couple of sub domain websit can i sat there cpanal.:mad:
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Your host is the first stop when you have questions like this about your account.

    These instructions are not exactly correct, IMHO.

    If you just want to give a user access to files, creating a sub domain in cPanel will work fine for that.

    Of course if you want them to have their own cPanel account, yes sure, creating a sub domain account via WHM will work, but then you've got to set up a Package for this account as well (if you do not want that sub domain to have the same Features as the main domain).

    Either way, the owner of the TLD *will* have access to all files on the account.
     
Loading...

Share This Page