Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel Forum: Page not found

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hm2k, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. hm2k

    hm2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I'm seeing a lot of links now resulting in "Page not found"...

    The thread was previously:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/error-couldnt-open-config-file-awstats-example-com-conf-nor-awstats-conf-137109-new-post.html

    Which results in "Page not found".

    But now appears to be:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/cpanel-whm-discussions/137109-error-couldnt-open-config-file-awstats-example-com-conf-nor-awstats-conf.html

    Perhaps you should rewrite f5 to cpanel-whm-discussions to ensure site link integrity.

    Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Was this a link in a thread on forums.cpanel.net or was this elsewhere (e.g. an email generated by these forums, a link on another website etc.)?
     
  3. linux7802

    linux7802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,161
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm going to take a guess at this, as I recall that there was a way to shorten URLs using that format /fsomenumber/ available over at vbulletin.org a while back, link here:
    vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=173738

    Maybe they tried using that here before switching over to using vBseo instead, which uses a different style to rename URLs.

    Problem there is that the links posted above are not old posts, but posts from this very month.

    Is that old hack from vbulletin.org linked above still in play in the htaccess? Might be worth someone taking a closer look I guess since we've got new posts still coming up with that style URL on google.

    My 2
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same behavior I've been experiencing.
     
  6. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,554
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Workaround to access threads by numerical ID

    Thank you for the additional feedback; we are looking into this issue.

    As a temporary workaround, if you find a thread link that does work, the numerical thread ID available from the non-working link may be used to access the discussion thread using a URL in the following format (where "NUMBER" should be replaced by the numerical thread ID):
    Code:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=NUMBER
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. hm2k

    hm2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    This is a forum wide issue, with static links (such as the ones manually posted by users or sent by email) created before you changed the mapping.

    I see no reason why you can't map both or 301 redirect the old ones to new.

    But then I'm pretty handy with rewrites :p
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice