The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Full Backup NOT saving homedir anymore

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by SlyGhost, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. SlyGhost

    SlyGhost Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I usually do my backups like every week by logging to that specific account's cPanel and clicking to Backups > Generate/Download Full Backups (and enter email too).

    Ir was working fine until this date 25-October-2008 . It was saving everything including homedir , mysql dbs ...

    After that day , when I click on Backups > Generate/Download Full Backups and download the tar.gz file , I see homedir is EMPTY. I tried several times from that day on , even right now I tried again its NOT saving homedir in tar.gz file!

    I didn't do any server WHM changes , nothing ... I just did my regular cPanel WHM Updates and right now using "cPanel 11.24.2-C32034 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9 REDHAT Enterprise 4 i686 on standard "

    I have no idea what happened after 25-October-2008 and backup function started NOT to include homedirs anymore...

    Very weird though , any helps on this?
    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Look for a file in the root of the backup named homedir.tar

    I'm running the same version as you and just backed up an account to test this.
     
  3. SlyGhost

    SlyGhost Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nope there is NO homedir.tar or even similar to that...
    There is only 1 tar.gz file which has everything but NO homedir , homedir is empty when I extract. But it used to work before :/

    Its weird it used to include homedir when clicking Full Backups , but now it doesn't...

    1-) I've just clicked Full Backup on my other server's one account (WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.6-S27698 REDHAT Enterprise 4 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0)
    Then I downloaded and checked .tar.gz file , and YES it does include homedir perfectly just how it should be! backup-12.3.2008_22-10-04_xxx1.tar.gz


    2-) I did click Full Backup on this second server's one account (cPanel 11.24.2-C32034 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9 REDHAT Enterprise 4 i686 on standard)
    Then downloaded and tar.gz , and NO it doesn't include homedir anymore but it used to include before... backup-12.3.2008_21-19-48_xxx2.tar.gz
    However I had it working before , for example this file backup-10.25.2008_16-40-40_xxx2.tar.gz includes everything homedir too , but after that date it started NOT to include homedir anymore...


    Something is weird ...
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I just tested with this build and it worked correctly for me. Please check /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log for any clues. Also if you open a ticket @ https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/ you should be able to get some help. If you post the ticket number I will try to take a look if I am still awake.
     
  5. SlyGhost

    SlyGhost Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Nick!

    Here is the Ticket number: 343742
     
    #5 SlyGhost, Dec 3, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2008
  6. SlyGhost

    SlyGhost Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Problem solved :)

    The problem occurred because /bin/tar had its permissions changed to 750.
    Nick have corrected this.

    [root@seo ~]# ls -l /bin/tar
    -rwxr-x--- 1 root root 161188 Aug 17 2007 /bin/tar
    [root@seo ~]# chmod 755 /bin/tar
    [root@seo ~]# ls -l /bin/tar
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 161188 Aug 17 2007 /bin/tar

    Now backup function works perfect like the old days!!!

    Thank you very much Nick , you Rock!!! :cool:
     
  7. AdamDresch

    AdamDresch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hmm, sorry to reopen this thread, but I to, am having the problem whereby the home directory is empty
    It does create a homedir TAR file within the backup file itself, which is 2.2gb in size, but only contains 3 files which are 3 spam assassian files, nothing else? and they are only 1-2kb in size, not 2gb heh
     
  8. Gigabit

    Gigabit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having this same exact issue myself, I have not changed any settings or file permissions.

    I also checked bin/tar and the permissions are set at 755.

    Any other ideas, would be nice to get this fixed.

    Thanks,

    Mark
     
  9. Gigabit

    Gigabit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My version

    cPanel 11.24.4-R32486 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 4.7 i686 on standard
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Which issue is the exact same issue?
     
  11. Gigabit

    Gigabit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    None of my backups contain the files for the "home" directory. I did not notice this until a customer requested their backup.

    I am presuming it has been like this since a cPanel update, but not sure. I have not changed anything in quite awhile.
     
  12. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This is happening for us too.

    Although I've edited this post because I was a bit hasty with my comment about this happening on lots of servers and the public_html's not being backed up - investigating ...

    Ok, I've found that in most cases the homedir.tar file does contain a public_html folder. One of our accounts is not being backed up though - it has no public_html folder in the archive. For that account, the public_html folder is htaccess password protected - would that make any difference?

    If you have a similar problem with the homedir.tar file containing only a partial backup - can you see if any of the directories that were not backed up were actually htpasswd protected? I know this shouldnt make any difference but its the only factor I can think of for this particular account - the backup is configured correctly and other accounts on the server seem to be ok.

    What would make the backup skip a whole directory?
     
    #12 4u123, Jan 16, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    cPanel did take a closer look here last night and are still working on this I believe. Haven't heard any new word today.

    I do have several pass protected directories inside public_html in a large account that's failing to unpack, but not public_html itself. If this is the case, and I move them all outside public_html we should get a different result. Might be worth testing.


    I don't think it is. I think it's just not unpacking them all correctly. File size is correct on the homedir.tar from what I can tell.
     
  14. Gigabit

    Gigabit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well it is obvious it is a cPanel issue as it is happening to a ton of people. I sure hope this get's fixed as all of my backups are shot now.
     
  15. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    homedir should be empty directory. homedir.tar contains the files.

    I'm yet to see one that actually broken. So far all I have seen is that there are problems extracting in winzip, however they extract just fine on the server .
     
  16. Gigabit

    Gigabit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been running my cPanel backups forever now, and have ALWAYS had files in the "home" directory.

    I don't understand?
     
  17. Gigabit

    Gigabit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, I see the file for the "home" directory now. Thanks.

    But... It wasn't always like this :P
     
  18. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The latest update fixes the permissions on /bin/tar if they are unusable for backups. It probably corrected this automatically.
     
  19. Neklawy

    Neklawy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The problem is still after update cPanel to latest update

    homedir.tar is created but without public_html folder or any folder in public_html

    please help to fix this problem :confused:

    Thanks
     
  20. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    I have the same problem too - homedir is empty.

    I can see that after uncompressing, homedir.tar appears in all backups and it seems that the file is quite large.

    But do I uncompresse homedir.tar? I got errors:

    # tar -xzvf homedir.tar

    gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
    tar: Child returned status 1
    tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
    #

    OK, I just answered my own question. The command is:
    # tar -xvf homedir.tar
    Once uncompressed, the public_html and all contents are there.
     
    #20 SuperBaby, Jan 17, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page